Skip to content

Review: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

January 30, 2013

 

 

 

In my blogpost about the Naked Palette I promised you that I wouldalso write one about the Eyeshadow Primer Potion that came with it.

Well, here it is!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Firstly: this primer is famous. Like, the most famous of them all. Ever.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

The packaging looks amazing, I love it! Though I’ve heard it’s impossible to get every last bit of the product out of it, which is of course a waste.

By the way, this is a sample so the regular version will be a lot bigger than this one.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

This is the applicator, it’s nothing special really…

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

The product has the consistency of the average concealer, the colour is very similar to foundation/concealer as well. It makes your skin soft and smooth, that’s probably because of the silicones it contains.Those silicones fill in your pores and lines, so the eyeshadow has a great base and therefore will a) appear more vibrant and b) last longer.

Let’s see if the Primer Potion fur fills those two tasks!

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

As fore the appearing-more-vibrant-part, it does a great, GREAT job. I mean, look at the picture above! The two swatches are from the same eyeshadow by Catrice (click here for a review), but the right one (with the primer underneath) shows up so much better!

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

The second part was a lot harder to test, but I think I’ve succeeded. Here’s what I did: After applying the Primer Potion only to my right eyelid and underneath my right eye (so that’s the left eye on the pictures), I applied a bunch of eyeshadows very heavily. I tried incorporatingĀ  different textures, so besides regular eyeshadow I also used a cream eyeshadow on my outer V and a pigment in my inner corners. The picture above shows you what it looks like.

And then, after half a day…

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

Now, if you can’t see the difference there’s something wrong with you. The eye without the primer (my left eye, right on the picture) looks horrible! I expected the eyeshadow to crease, but instead it just faded away. Whereas the other eye looks perfectly fine.

My conclusion: this legendary Primer Potion is indeed fabulous. Very expensive, though… But fabulous!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

