Skip to content

Review: NYX Blush (Taupe)

February 6, 2013

Yesterday, a little package arrived… Containing a product I ordered last week: a blush from NYX in the colour PB11 Taupe (€9,10). Perhaps you’ve heard of this before, lots of professional make up artists think this is a holy grail product for contouring.

Now, let’s see if I agree with them!

 

The packaging isn’t very special, it’s simple and a little cheap looking.  Such a cute pattern on the blush, though!

NYX Blush (Taupe)

At first sight, the colour of this ‘blush’ looks a bit odd – why would you want to wear a grey/brown/pink colour on your cheecks? But let me assure you, it’s the perfect contouring colour. So I guess the name is just odd, they should have labelled it as a bronzer or contouring powder.

NYX Blush (Taupe)

Once swatched, the powder is less pinky, and more of a cold brown colour. That’s why it’s so nice to contour your face with! Some bronzers tend to be way too orange for that job, but this one creates a nice, subtle shadow. You can apply such a colour to the hollows of your cheeks and the sides of your face to make your face appear slimmer and less chubby. I have quite a round face, so I was very excited to find out if this product could reduce that…

NYX Blush (Taupe)

Right: without any cheek products. Left: I used the NYX blush into the hollow of my cheek.

If you look closely at the right photograph, you can see the natural looking shadow just below my cheekbone. I know the difference is not very noticeable (the blush isn’t that pigmented), but I quite like that because you definitely not want to make the shadow too harsh – then you look like you haven’t eaten for a few weeks.

In brief: this is an amazing contouring product! I will definitely be using this blush to slim down my face, and maybe I will be able to find some more ways to use it. I’ll let you know!

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

 

Leave a Reply

