Skip to content

Tag: I ♥ Drugstore Makeup!

March 17, 2013

 

I love drugstore make up, that’s for sure! So when I saw this tag, I immediately wanted to post an article about it.

Click Read more if you want to read my answers to the questions!

 

 

 

1. What is the best make up bargain?

Although this one actually isn’t a drugstore product (or is it?), the ultimate bargain I can think of is my 120 Pro Palette. It contains 120 eyeshadows, 120!! I bought it from eBay a long time ago, it costed me less then €10. The quality isn’t amazing, but who cares – 8 cent per eyeshadow!

I Heart Drugstore Make Up Tag

 

2. What is your favourite drugstore make up brand?

That one’s easy – Rimmel London! I’ve tried and loved lots of their products. The colour range of their nail polishes is amazing, my all time favourite polish is one from Rimmel (click here to see it in my top ten). Also, I really like their foundations (especially Wake Me Up and Lasting Finish) and their lipsticks – I have five of them. I bought Rimmel’s Stay Matte powder because Tanya Burr (famous make up artist and YouTuber) raved about it, and now I love it as much as she does!

Second place: Maybelline New York, because of their Color Tattoo’s and gel eyeliner, and I’m pretty impressed by the Falsies Mascara (click for review).

 
3. What is your favourite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)

The mascara’s from Essence! They are amazingly cheap, and really long lasting. Don’t expect miracles, but they do give you a bit of extra length and volume that’s perfect for every day.

I Heart Drugstore Make Up Tag

 

4. What are your favourite face, cheek and lip products?

Face: the Stay Matte Pressed Powder and the Lasting Perfection Foundation, both by Rimmel London.

Cheeks: Rose Gold Blush (Sleek), I also adore some blushes by Catrice.  My favourite drugstore bronzer/highlighter is by Essence.

Lips: that’s so hard! As I said before, my favourite lipsticks are by Rimmel. Their Moisture Renew Lipstick #230 Coral Garden is such an amazing lipstick, it’s very flattering and very wearable. My favourite red lipstick, #01, is from Rimmel’s Lasting Finish By Kate Moss range. I also like the Apocalips Lip Lacquers! My favourite lipglosses come from Miss Sporty, I wrote about them before. And then there’s one type of lip products left: lip balms. Click here to see my top five, most of them are from the drugstore – I would like to add Nivea’s Vanilla & Macadamia Lip Butter (which I recently bought and now LOVE) to that article, as well!

I Heart Drugstore Make Up Tag

 

5. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?

I’m thinking very hard, but I can’t come up with something… Well, maybe BB creams – all the fuss around them – I don’t get it!

 

6. Least favourite product?

That’s definitely my Revlon Just Bitten Lipstain + Balm. IT’S SO UGLY! When applying this, it’s impossible to make it spread out evenly on your lips. Not to mention the fact that it gets even more ugly after a few hours! Also, the colour isn’t my thing – it’s a bit to vampy for me.

I Heart Drugstore Make Up Tag

 

7. A drugstore product that is overpriced?

A product: mascara’s. Have they always been that ridiculously priced? Rimmel London, L’Orèal Paris, Maybelline New York… All of their mascara’s cost €15 or something!

A brand: L’Orèal Paris. They keep raising their prices, their products are almost reaching €20. Drugstore? I don’t think so! For that amount of money you can buy something from MAC!

 
8. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!

I don’t know much about dupes, because I – naturally – don’t tend to buy two things that are nearly the same. But I’ve heard that the blush I mentioned before, Rose Gold (Sleek), is a perfect dupe for NARS’ famous (and expensive!) blush called Orgasm. Also, people say that the Oh So Special palette (also by Sleek) is a cheaper version of the Naked Palette by Urban Decay. I have both of them and I don’t think their eyeshadows are that much alike, though.

One more thing I can come up with is the Shine Caresse line from L’Orèal Paris. According to many beauty bloggers, they have exactly the same texture as the Glossy Stains by Ives Saint Laurent. I don’t know whether that’s true, but I did review two of the Shine Caresse stains, click here if you want to read it.

Oh and lastly, after I bought the Inglot Palette I wrote a review about, I discovered that I already had an eyeshadow in a similar colour – I think it’s from a LE by Catrice. Luckily, that one isn’t half as pigmented so I don’t have to regret buying the expensive Inglot eyeshadow!

I Heart Drugstore Make Up Tag

 

That’s it!

I’d like to remind you that, other then the products I mentioned in this article, I reviewed many more drugstore products for you. Click here for a list!

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

