Skip to content

Tutorial: Perfect Eyebrows

April 28, 2013
Perfect Brows

When someone asked me what part of my body I like the most, they would get an unexpected answer. Most people find their eyes to be the prettiest, or their hair… But not me – I adore my eyebrows! I understand why people might think this is a silly answer, I mean, eyebrows are just… eyebrows? Right?

 

 

NO! I can not stress enough how incredibly important your eyebrows are. They frame your face, they determine your age and your facial expressions. That’s why you can’t forget them – and luckily you have me because I’m going to show you how to achieve the perfect eyebrows.

Perfect Brows

These are the tools I’m going to use:  tweezers, a lash/brow comb, nail scissors, an eyebrow pencil (#09 by HEMA) and clear lash/brow gel (by Catrice).

Perfect Brows

Step 1: This is something most women already do: pluck the hairs around the brows. When I say around, I mean AROUND! Do not remove (parts of) your actual brows, I can promise you that you will regret it. Or at least, I will regret I didn’t stop you when I look at your eyebrowless face. By the way: I recommend completing this step just before going to bed at night, because it may cause a bit of redness in your brow area.

Perfect Brows

Step 2: Using a lash/brow comb (or your fingers if you’re lazy), comb your eyebrows upwards.

Perfect Brows

Step 3: You can see that a few hairs reach beyond my actual brow shape, when you trim those hairs your brows will look much neater.

Perfect Brows

Step 4: The pieces of hair you cut off, will fly around in every direction! So when you’re done, don’t forget to remove the bits of hair that have landed around your eyebrows.

Perfect Brows

Step 5: Now it’s time to fill in your brows. It’s up to you whether you prefer using a pencil, an eyeshadow or a liquid product for this – I prefer a brow pencil. Don’t ever use a black product to fill in your brows, this will look unnatural because no one’s brows really are black. Just find a shade that matches your hair colour, or even a product that’s a bit lighter – it’s important that you don’t make your brows look too harsh.

Perfect Brows

Step 6: Something that also helps with keeping your eyebrows from looking too harsh, is combing them though after you filled them in. By doing this the brow product you used will be softened a bit, as harsh lines will be blended out.

Perfect Brows

Step 7: To keep your eyebrows looking perfect the whole day, you can lock them in place with a clear brow gel. You can also combine step 6 + 7 by using a tinted brow gel, but I don’t really like them.

Perfect Brows

Now you’re done! As you can see on the picture above, my brows now look way prettier than before :) I hope the same will happen to you, if not: keep practising and trying out which products and steps work best for you.

Perfect Brows

I love brows.

 

Love,

Suzanne

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacqueline permalink
    September 3, 2013 7:19 pm

    Wonderful!
    First off, i must say that your eyebrows are awesome! I loved them even in the “before” shot.
    This is definitely one of the best eyebrow tutorials online – detailed and the pictures make things so much clearer.
    Thank You!

    Love from Nigeria.

    • September 3, 2013 8:03 pm

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment, it made me very, very happy!

  2. brow permalink
    April 4, 2014 9:28 pm

    you have beautiful eyes

  3. India permalink
    May 4, 2014 4:44 pm

    This is the best eyebrow tutorial that I’ve ever found. I tried it out, but it went a little wrong. However, my eyebrows look rather nice, considering that this is my first attempt. Thank you; this tutorial is amazing! Most tutorials have writing with either no photographs, or very ‘vague’ photographs. However, your tutorial is so easy to follow, because there are clear pictures.
    You have very nice eyebrows too! :D

    • May 5, 2014 11:13 pm

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment, it’s great to hear that my tutorial helps you out! Keep on trying, I’m sure your next attempts will turn out much better. Good luck (:

  4. Shuie permalink
    July 23, 2014 3:34 am

    Just gorgeous! Your eyebrows emphasize your eyes so well.

    Question– do you ever get obsessed with ensuring your eyebrows are “even”? Do you get what I mean? I have been trying to make my eyebrows “even” since I was 12! I’ve just about given up because I end up violating one of your rules (don’t tweeze actual eyebrow!). However, at the age of 30 I am now starting to realize even though one eyebrow is arched more than the other, and one is slightly higher than the other, to maybe let it go? When I let my eyebrows be, and them groomed, they are a cross between KimK and Grace Kelly. LOL!

    • Amanda permalink
      August 21, 2016 3:15 am

      A friend once told me that “eyebrows are sisters, not twins”

  5. Sophie permalink
    January 1, 2015 7:22 pm

    I love your eyebrows, but one thing about your tutorial and the majority of all the other eyebrow things I’ve read that really enfruriates me is that you said that nobody has naturally black eyebrows. Maybe no Caucasian person does, but as a Chinese women, my eyebrows and hair are pitch black NATURALLY. I never fill in my eyebrows mainly because I’m scared of using black product because of blogs like yours, but I can’t use brown or whatever other color because it looks rediculous in my BLACK eyebrows! I really do like your eyebrow tutorial, and your eyebrows look amazing, but it just aggravates me when you write about there being no such thing as black eyebrows when I clearly have them.

    • January 1, 2015 10:12 pm

      I honestly thought black looking eyebrows are in reality always a very dark shade of brown, but I shouldn’t have said it because clearly I don’t know what I’m talking about… I’m so sorry!

  6. Amanda permalink
    August 21, 2016 3:13 am

    Thank you so much for this! You totally saved me from doing the embarrassing mistake of using my black eye shadow for my eyebrows.

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Tweezerman Mini Slant Tweezer | Make Up Your Mind
  2. 17 Genius Tricks For Getting The Best Damn Eyebrows Of Your Life - crazyforus

Leave a Reply

