Skip to content

Review: I ♥ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (Essence)

May 8, 2013

The I ♥ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (by Essence) is a product I got for free at a party. I’ve tried it out a few times, but right from the start I had a very strong opinion about it.If you want to know that opinion, click Read more!

 

First off: this mascara smells horrible. For me this isn’t that big of a deal, it would be when concerning smelly lip products, though.

I ♥ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (Essence)

Secondly: the wand is very unusual – at least, for me. It’s very big and has short rubber bristles. Below you can see a step-by-step picture of me applying the mascara.

I ♥ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (Essence)

  1. I’m wearing a brown Kohl pencil (by Rimmel) and I did curl my lashes – but no mascara yet.
  2. Here you can see the size of the brush compared to my eye. It’s big, right? Another thing I need to mention: the formula of the mascara is a lot thicker than I’m used to, which leads to…
  3. CLUMPS! On this picture I very carefully applied one coat of mascara to avoid clumps, but to no avail. Actually the effect isn’t that bad, as I really did take my time applying the mascara. I know for sure that it could have been a lot worse if I’d just swept it on!
  4. These are my lashes wearing another coat. As you can see there isn’t a huge difference between picture 3 and 4, that’s because I didn’t take the risk of applying too much in the fear of causing more clumps.

I ♥ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (Essence)

When these two shots were taken, I had applied two coats of mascara to each eye. It does add volume, I guess… I don’t like the effect, though.

I ♥ Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara (Essence)

And here’s a full face picture. From a distance my lashes do look kind of okay, but up close you can really see the clumps. In case you’re wondering what I’m wearing on my lips: it’s L’Orèal’s Shine Caresse in #200 Princess – click here for a review.

Anyway, about the mascara: it’s cheap, the packaging looks nice but the effect is disappointing. Maybe you don’t mind having spider lashes – but I do so I don’t ♥ this Extreme Crazy Volume Mascara!

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. littlebitofblush permalink
    June 21, 2015 5:01 pm

    It definitely adds volume, but I don’t think it’s that clumpy.. But I don’t wear mascara so maybe I’m wrong :P

Trackbacks

  1. Empty Products (August + September 2013) | Make Up Your Mind
  2. Tag: Products I regret buying | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a comment