Skip to content

What’s in my make up travel bag?

May 15, 2013

What’s in my make up travel bag? Actually I wasn’t really sure myself, because it’s been a while since I travelled – and meanwhile I’ve bought a lot of new products.  I filled a make up travel bag with the finest of those products, take a look!

 

 

When I’m finished with my exams, I’m going on a one-week trip to Italy with my friends – and of course I need to have my make up with me! Mainly to postpone studying, I decided to already think about what products I’m going to take with me in my make up travel bag.

First, let’s talk brushes!

My make up travel bag

This lovely brush case came with the Core Collection (by Real Techniques) I recently bought. Not only does it protect my brushes…

My make up travel bag

… it also doubles up as a stand. So convenient! Let me talk you though the brushes, from left to right: Real Techniques Expert Face Brush (for applying liquid foundation), Real Techniques Buffing Brush (for powder foundation), HEMA Eyeshadow Brush (just a plain eye brush to apply a lid colour with), HEMA Blending Brushes (one for blending and one for applying crease colours), ELF Crease Brush (I actually don’t use this in my crease, I prefer using it for smudging eye pencils or applying an inner corner highlight), HEMA Eyeliner Brush (for lining my eyes with eyeshadow) and my Real Techniques Contour Brush (for applying blusher, bronzer and highlighter).

My make up travel bag

Now on to the actual make up bag…

My make up travel bag

I dedicated the small compartment to my pencils and a few cotton buds. Amongst the pencils are some brown and black Kohl pencils, as well as a few highlight shades and a bright blue one. I take two brow pencils with me: one for me and a also lighter one – just in case I need to do the make up of one of my friends.

My make up travel bag

These are the lip products I keep in the main compartment of my bag: an Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream lipgloss, two lipsticks from Rimmel (a red and a coral one), a L’Orèal Paris Shine Caresse lipstain/gloss and an Apocalips Lip Laquer by Rimmel (#303 Apocaliptic) – I think I’ll post a review about that one later.

My make up travel bag

Oh no, I forgot my NYX Blush in Taupe, to contour with! Anyway, these are the cheek products I did pack: a blush by Catrice, a highlighter by KIKO and a blush by Sleek (the famous Rose Gold one). Especially that last one will look great on tanned skin, that’s why I’m planning on taking it with me on vacation.

My make up travel bag

Here you can see the eyeshadows in my make up bag: Sleek’s Oh So Special palette (I prefer my Urban Decay Naked Palette, but I’d DIE if it would break during travelling) and two Color Tattoo’s by Maybelline (the pink and the bronze one). With just these three products, I can create so many different eye looks!

My make up travel bag

And these are a few random products: a pencil sharpener, Urban Decay’s Primer Potion, a lash curler and a mascara by Rimmel. I thought about taking a waterproof mascara with me because of the heat and all the swimming, but I find those to be a pain in the ass to take off.

Okay, I realize you must think I’m crazy for taking that many make up products with me on a holiday… Just to be clear: at least half of the days I won’t be wearing make up because of a) swimming, b) tanning, c) wearing sunglasses and d) laziness. But when my friends and I decide to go out for dinner, or when Loïs (photographer) wants to have a photo shoot, I really want to have options make up wise. I just… I love make up!

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

EDIT: I totally forgot to mention the face products I’m taking with me! They are: Rimmel London’s Stay Matte Powder (#007 Mohair) and Rimmel London’s Lasting Finish Liquid Foundation (#303 True Nude).

Leave a Reply

