Skip to content

Review: NYX Glitter Pencils

June 4, 2013

I’ve heard many things about the eye pencils by NYX – people say they are great dupes for Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils. So when I spotted them on sale a few weeks ago I bought not one, not two, but three of those glittery fairy tales. Of course I reviewed them, click Read more to discover my opinion on them…

 

Actually these products are called Eye/Eyebrow Pencil, but let’s just forget about that brow part, shall we? Well, I guess you never know – maybe glittery eyebrows will come into fashion the next season!

NYX glitter pencils

From left to right: #933 Gold Glitter, #932 Bronze Glitter and #939 Green Glitter. The texture of these pencils is acceptable, they are not creamy enough for my taste but I was impressed by the glitters being very fine and soft, as they can be too chunky sometimes. And the pigmentation is great!

NYX glitter pencils

I’m sorry, when making swatches I mixed up the order (yolo). Anyway, I took the second picture after washing my arm with cold water. They definitely can’t be labelled as waterproof, but especially the two darkest shades did pretty well. Although the colour is rubbed of by now, the glitters are still on my arm while typing this… They really are hardcore, which reminds me of a Revlon lipstick I reviewed in the past.

Not only did I try these pencils out on my arm, of course I also created a few eye looks with them.

NYX glitter pencils

Besides some eyeshadows from the Naked Palette, this look features the golden and the bronze NYX pencil, I applied them underneath my lower lash line. These pictures were taking after a long bike ride, so it’s not strange that the golden pencil in my inner corners had faded (given the fact that always cry when I’m cycling because of the wind).

NYX glitter pencils

This look is a bit bolder, I combined the green pencil with Maybelline’s Master Drama Kohl Liner. I tried to really smudge out the NYX pencil, which was a bit hard because of the dry texture and the glitters. I do think this look turned out very beautiful, I love the black and the green pencils together. By the way: you may recognise this look from a FOTD post I did earlier, click here to go to that article.

NYX glitter pencils

So about the pencils: though the texture could be better (creamier), I definately didn’t regret buying these NYX Eye/Eyebrow Pencils. The colours are lovely and I also really like the look of the glitters! Another great thing is the wide colour range, I mean look at the picture above…

Given what they costed me (€1,95), I might go back to the Douglas and buy some more…

 

Love,

Suzanne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. yinukume permalink
    June 11, 2013 9:30 pm

    WordPress vertelde mij zomaar ineens dat je een stukje had geschreven. Uit zichzelf! :o
    Leuk stukje trouwens, en mooie oogpotloden. Vooral die met goud en brons :)

Trackbacks

  1. My October Favourites | Make Up Your Mind
  2. FOTD: me playing with make up | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

