Skip to content

Review: Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquers

September 15, 2013

“It’s the End of Colour as you know it! The intense rich colour of a lipstick, enhanced by a satin smooth shine. It’s neither a lipstick nor a gloss… It’s BIGGER than both! LONG LIVE THE COLOUR!” These… err… dramatic lines by Rimmel London describe one of their latest products: the Apocalips Lip Laquers.

 

 

As you might already have guessed: I’ve tried them out for you!

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquer

The three colours I bought are called: #500 Luna, #303 Apocaliptic and #101 Celestial. All three shades are indeed rich and pigmented – let’s see what they look like on my lips…

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquer

First: my lips without any products on them.

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquer

#101 Celestial is a conservative shade of pink, I believe they call this colour ‘tea rose’. I’m not quite sure whether I like this colour or not… I think it would look better on blond (fair skinned) people.

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquer

#303 Apocaliptic is an in-your-face shade of fuchsia, I love it! This lip lacquer is the most pigmented one out of the three, such a vibrant colour! It reminds me of a lipstick by Rimmel, called #320 Funtime Fuchsia (review).

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquer

#500 Luna is a peachy colour which just doesn’t look good on me! It’s very frustrating – I love soft orange/pink shades, but this one makes me look a bit trashy, to be honest. Once again, I think it would look better on a fair skinned girl. By the way, I find it very hard to apply this colour evenly on to my lips, the result always tends to look uneven.

Rimmel London Apocalips Lip Laquer
So… what’s my final opinion on Rimmel’s Apocalips Lip Laquers?

First off, I really like the idea of having a mixture between a very pigmented lipstick and a very creamy lip gloss – it’s the best of both worlds! The formula isn’t very long lasting and it smears quite easily, but I do like how smooth the Lip Laquer feels on my lips. The colour selection could have been better; some shades are just not that flattering. I really like the fuchsia shade, though!

I must admit, I’m a bit curious about the other shades – I hear there’s an amazing bright red shade called “Big Bang”!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

