Skip to content

My 5 Favourite Lip Balms (updated)

October 3, 2013

About a year ago I showed you my five favourite lipbalms in this article. I don’t even want to know how many lip balms I have bought just this one year, but I do know I have a few new ones that I really love!

That’s why it’s time for an updated My 5 Favourite Lipbalms blog post!

 

I want to start by saying that this time I’m not going to show you any swatches of these lip balms, that’s because most of them don’t have a tint to them. When the colour does differ from the usual lip balm colour, I’ll tell you!

My 5 favourite lip balms

The first one we have here is Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm. This tin is tiny and it looks so cute with the little bee! It’s hard to open though, that’s a bummer. The ingredients are all natural: coconut oil, sunflower seed oil, vitamin E, rosemary, peppermint oil… That last ingredient makes the balm smell very fresh, like menthol. It’s quite a strong scent, I don’t love it… However, I can deal with it because the effect of this lip balm is just amazing: soft lips that stay moisturized for quite a while. By the way, this Beeswax Lip Balm is very, very solid – it’s hard to get it from the can onto your finger. Then again, you only need just a little bit so it’s not that big of a deal.

My 5 favourite lip balms

Now this scent I do love! This Vanilla & Macadamia Lip Butter by Nivea smells like freshly baked cookies mixed with vanilla mixed with heavenly sweetness. Nivea also brought out a Raspberry Rose Lip Butter, but I don’t like the chemical sweet scent of it. Anyway, back to the Vanilla & Macadamia one. The ingredients are not all natural but there are a few butters and oils in there, so that’s good. It adds a bit of extra moisture to my lips, but the effect unfortunately doesn’t last very long. The Lip Butter does leave your lips looking a bit white, so I only use it when I’m at home.

My 5 favourite lip balms

I’ve raved on and on about Revlon’s Colorburst Lip Butters, I can’t help it – they are just gorgeous! Moisturizing, long lasting and absolutely beautiful looking. These shades are called #035 Candy Apple and #015 Tutti Frutti. You may already have seen them in the video I made about my five favourite lipsticks (click!), I have also written an in dept review about both of them (click and click).

My 5 favourite lip balms

This Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream Lip Protectant was also featured in my previous My 5 Favourite Lip Balms blog post, I still love it! This already is my second can, I really have to buy a back up soon… This balm really is worth the hype, it instantly makes my lips look soft and hydrated. And shiny! The packaging is a bitch, though. It’s hard to open, especially now that there’s a bit of sand between the lid – it makes such a cringy (is that a word?) sound when I open it… just thinking of it makes me shiver!

My 5 favourite lip balms

I’ve saved the boring one for last: Labello Classic Care. Just a plain lip balm that doesn’t have a tint or smell to it. Of course that doesn’t mean I don’t like it, in fact this is my favourite lip balm when I’m on the go. It’s smooth and hydrating – that’s all there is to say about it, I guess!

My 5 favourite lip balms

In short, here’s what I like the most about the lip balms I talked about:

  • Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm: the hydratation
  • Nivea Vanilla & Macadamia Lip Butter: the scent
  • Revlon’s Colorburst Lip Butters: EVERYTHING
  • Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream Lip Protectant: the hydratation
  •  Labello Classic Care: the simplicity

Now I know that I don’t get many comments on my blog (which I totally get, there are millions of blogs like mine out there), but feel free to tell me about your favourite lip balm! I’d love to know, because that would mean I have to buy another one…

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

