Skip to content

FOTD: Cellotape Chic

October 14, 2013

 

 

 

When I was about to get ready for a concert last week, I grabbed my brushes, my make up and… my cello tape.

Wait, what?!

 

 

 

 

 

Maybe you’ve already heard of this trick before, maybe you haven’t: using cello tape to create a perfectly sharp edged make up look. It’s very easy, you just…

  1. Take a small piece of cello tape.
  2. Stick it onto your hand and pull it off; if the tape is a bit less sticky it won’t be such a pain to remove it when you’re done with your make up.
  3. Place it next to your eye, from the outer corner of your eye to where your eyebrow ends. Try following the direction of your lower lash line.
  4. Do your make up!
  5. Pull of the tape: LOOK AT THAT RAZOR SHARP LINE!
  6. If you want to, you can really make it stand out by sharpening the line a even more with some concealer.

Here’s the end result…

FOTD: Cellotape Chic

I used mostly brown and golden shades, and an olive green eyeshadow, too. I tried very hard to blend all the colours together, I think it worked out pretty well! Although I think it would have looked even better if I had applied a bit of black gel eye liner to my upper lash line…

FOTD: Cellotape Chic

On my face I used quite a bit of foundation – I just thought this type of eye look would go well with flawless skin, because then all the attention will be directed to the eyes!

FOTD: Cellotape Chic

For that same reason I decided to just use a clear lip gloss on my lips, nothing more. I did try a few other products, like Rimmel’s Moisture Renew Lipstick #230 Coral Garden and a Hollywood Forever Lipgloss #418 Golden Statue, but in the end I decided on something as neutral as possible.

FOTD: Cellotape Chic

Besides brushes (and of course the cello tape), every single product I used is on this picture. I also made a list for you:

  • Collistar Biorevitalizing Face Cream
  • Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52 + Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation #400 Natural Beige
  • Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer #3 Medium
  • Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush #14 Soft Pink, I wrote about another shade from the same range – review
  • NYX Blush #PB11 Taupe – review
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair
  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – review
  • Catrice Liquid Metal Eyeshadow #070 Gold Leaf Me
  • Urban Decay Naked Palette: Naked, Buck and Darkhorse – review
  • Sleek i-Divine Mineral Based Eyeshadow Palette #658 Oh So Special: Noir and Boxed
  • Maybellie New York Master Drama Khol Liner #Ultra Black – review
  • HEMA Eyelash Curler
  • Max Factor Masterpiece Max Mascara #Black
  • HEMA Eyebrow Pencil #11
  • Catrice Lash/Brow Designer
  • Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant Gloss, which is very similar to the lip balm version – review
  • KIKO Face Make Up Fixer

 

I hope you liked my Face Of The Day, maybe you even learnt something… If you do try using the cello tape trick yourself: good luck!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

