Skip to content

My October Favourites

October 29, 2013

I’ve been doing monthly blog posts about my empty products for quite a while now, so I wanted to change things up a bit. I’m replacing the Empties-blog post with another one: my monthly favourites! I just love to write about products I love :) Also, I always like to read about the favourites of other beauty bloggers – I hope you do to, ’cause here we go!

 

 

These are my October Favourites:

October Favorites

Real Techniques Setting Brush – Lately I have fallen in love with this cute little brush! The size of it makes it perfect for applying powder to specific areas of your face; such as your nose, forehead and chin (T-zone). Besides that, I also use it every day to set the concealer underneath my eyes with powder. Just like with the Expert Face Brush I reviewed a while ago (click!), the hairs are amazingly soft and they don’t fall out – no matter how many times you wash the brush.

Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush #14 Soft Pink – I already owned another shade of these Creamy Blushes (#09 Soft Murano, click here for a review), but after I discovered the hype around the Soft Pink shade, I decided to buy that one too. The colour is indeed amazing, it’s a subtle rosy shade that looks great on many different skin colours. Also, I really like the texture of this cream blush: easy to apply and long lasting.

Maybelline New York Color Show Nail Laquer #352 Downtown Red – To my opinion, dark red is the ultimate nail polish colour for Autumn. That’s why I have been wearing this Color Show polish a lot lately! The formula isn’t that nice, it takes 2-3 coats to get an opaque look. However, the colour is just beautiful and also this bottle only costs four Euros!

NYX Eye/Eyebrow Pencil #931 Black Brown – I got this pencil only just a month ago and now I honestly can’t imagine how I was ever able to live without it! It’s the perfect colour for me – darker than the brown Kohl pencils I already own, but not as harsh as the black ones I have. Other pros are: the pencil is very pigmented, also it’s very long lasting – almost waterproof! I use this product to line my upper and lower lash line, focusing on the area between my lashes, and then blending it out with a flat stiff smudger brush. I have reviewed a few other pencils from this range, click here to read all about it.

KIKO Vibrant Eye Pencil #606 – Another eye pencil I’ve been loving is this bright turquoise one by Kiko. The colour, oh my god, the colour! It just looks absolutely beautiful when I apply this shade to my lower lash line for a pretty pop of colour. Okay I now have decided to wear this one tomorrow :)

Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel – This is one of these products for lazy people because it takes just seconds to apply. After a few swipes, my brows are filled in and shaped. This gel keeps my brow hairs in place for the whole day, which I really need because they tend to go a bit crazy sometimes…

The Body Shop Shea Body Butter – Rich, moisturising, yummy smelling… I LOVE THIS BODY BUTTER! Initially I bought the smaller size of this Shea Body Butter (review), but when I discovered its awesomeness I just had to buy full size version.

L’Oréal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Oil – When I got this oil about a year ago, I immediately regretted the purchase because it’s quite expensive (about 15 Euros). That feeling went away quickly, though! After applying just one drop too the ends of my hair, my hair instantly feels so very soft! It takes away all the dryness and frizz, while making your hair look healthy and shiny. Other hair oils tend to weigh my hair down and make it greasy, but this one definitely doesn’t!

The Body Shop Japanese Cherry Blossom Eau de Toilette – During October (actually, the months before as well), this Japanese Cherry Blossom Eau De Toilette has been my every day scent. It smells sweet and flowery, but fresh at the same time. Also, the lasting power is pretty good – the scent lingers all day. Unfortunately it’s more of a summer perfume, so it’s not that suitable for the upcoming seasons. But I’ll be wearing it anyway!

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52 – Now that Autumn has arrived, it’s getting colder outside… I can definitely feel the effects of the cold air on my skin: it has been dry and flaky lately. Therefore my go to foundation now is the Healthy Mix Foundation by Bourjois! It does a great job moisturising my skin, and it also covers up the redness in my face (I blame the coldness for that one too). The foundation also looks very natural, it really looks like skin. Love!

October Favorites

Here are a few swatches of the products I mentioned. From left to right: Maybelline New York Color Show Nail Laquer #352 Downtown Red, Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush #14 Soft Pink, NYX Eye/Eyebrow Pencil #931 Black Brown, KIKO Vibrant Eye Pencil #606, Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel, Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52.

I hope you liked reading my very first Favourites blog post – I’m already looking forward to writing about my November favourites!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

