Skip to content

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

November 8, 2013

A while ago I showed you my ten favourite nail polishes, but I do feel like my taste differs every season. That’s why I set up a new top five… featuring my favourite nail polishes for the upcoming seasons: Autumn and Winter. And my guitar!

 

 

Here they are, in no particular order:

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

Essie Nail Laquer Stylenomics Limited Edition Recessionista

Essie describes this polish as ‘a smart, intelligent and savvy brick red’. I think it’s more of a plum than a red shade, but I definitely agree on the smart and intelligent part. It’s really a grown up shade, very sophisticated and elegant. I don’t wear this polish during the Summer, but it’s perfect for Autumn and Winter times. As with every Essie Nail Laquer, the formula and coverage are amazing!

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

Essence Colour & Go Nail Polish #165 Here’s My Number

I just bought this one, hoping that it would be a dupe for the Precious Stones polish I just ran out of. Unfortunately this one isn’t as glittery and special as the one by Rimmel, but that does make it more suitable for everyday wear. The lid says ‘sparkle sand effect’, obviously referring to the very popular liquid sand nail polishes. I have seen liquid sand polishes prettier than this one, but then again – this Essence polish probably costs ten dollars less than the OPI ones.

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

Rimmel London Salon Pro Nail Polish #713 Britpop

Of course this polish is one of my faves, because turquoise is my favourite colour! This is a colour I would wear all year ’round, I love it. I also quite like the formula, it has pretty good lasting powers.

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

Maybelline New York Color Show Nail Laquer #352 Downtown Red

I already featured this nail polish in my October Favourites, this is what I wrote about it: To my opinion, dark red is the ultimate nail polish colour for Autumn. That’s why I have been wearing this Color Show polish a lot lately! The formula isn’t that nice, it takes 2-3 coats to get an opaque look. However, the colour is just beautiful and also this bottle only costs four Euros!

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

Essie Nail Laquer Watermelon

I hear you thinking ‘how is this an Autumn/Winter shade’? You’re absolutely right, but I’m just so addicted to this nail polish that I can’t stop wearing it, even now that summer’s over. I just love how cheerful and juicy the colour looks! You can see pictures of me wearing it in this blog post.

My 5 Favourite Autumn/Winter Polishes

Here are the swatches, from left to right: Essie Nail Laquer Stylenomics Limited Edition Recessionista (in real life not that dark!), Rimmel London Salon Pro Nail Polish #713 Britpop, Essence Colour & Go Nail Polish #165 Here’s My Number, Maybelline New York Color Show Nail Laquer #352 Downtown Red, Essie Nail Laquer Watermelon.

Although I hate the coldness, the rain and the absence of the sun, these nail polishes really lighten my mood during Autumn/Winter times!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

