Skip to content

FOTD: Blue Is The New Black

December 9, 2013

A few days ago I was experimenting with eye products, because recently I’ve had the feeling that I’m constantly applying the same kinds of eye looks.

In the end I was left with this black/blue eyeliner; a simple and clean, yet interesting look. I quite like this combination of different liners next to each other, so I thought I’d make a blog post about my FOTD!

 

 

 

Here’s a close-up of the eye look:

FOTD: Blue Is The New Black

It really is an easy look to create: I just lined my eyes with a bright blue eye pencil (by KIKO) – I don’t think it’s necessary to be very precise when you’re doing this. When applying the black gel eyeliner, you do need to be precise because you want to keep the line very sharp and thin (otherwise you’ll cover the blue). Other than that part, the rest of this look is very simple: a nude colour on the lid, a matte brown shadow in the crease, a tiny bit of smudged black liner (I used the same gel liner as before) on the lower lash line and mascara on the upper lashes.

FOTD: Blue Is The New Black

Two more shots of my eyes; I’m sorry that the pictures are a bit too dark. I want  the winter to be over so that the weather’s sunny enough for taking good, light photographs!

FOTD: Blue Is The New Black

I tried to keep the rest of my face very natural. The blue eyeliner is already barely noticeable, I’m sure that you wouldn’t notice it at all once paired with a bold lip! Therefore I went with a thin layer of a coral lipstick, and a soft pink blusher. I also used foundation, concealer, highlighter and a face mist afterwards, because my make up looked a bit cakey. The picture and list below show you the products I used.

FOTD: Blue Is The New Black

EYES

  • Maybelline New York Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24h #01 Black – featured in my November Favourites from last year
  • KIKO Vibrant Eye Pencil #606 – featured in my October Favourites
  • Urban Decay The Naked Palette – review
  • Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel – featured in my October Favourites
  • Catrice Made To Stay Inside Highlighter Pen#010 In The Mood For Nude – review
  • HEMA Eyelash Curler
  • Maybelline New York the One By One Volum’ Express Mascara – review

FACE

  • Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation #52 – featured in my October Favourites
  • Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25h Foundation #303 True Nude
  • Maybelline New York The Eraser Concealer #Light – review
  • Max Factor Miracle Touch Creamy Blush #14 Soft Pink – featured in my October Favourites
  • NYX Blush #PB11 Taupe – review
  • L’Oréal Paris Glam Bronze Sun Radiance Trio #201
  • The Body Shop Vitamin E Face Mist

LIPS

 

I like this FOTD very much – a fresh, clean look with a subtle twist on the upper lash line. Actually I was afraid that it would be too subtle, but luckily a friend of mine noticed the blue liner and commented on it :)

I should try this again sometimes, using a different pop of colour. Maybe an emerald green shade, or a glittery silver/gold – that would be perfect for the upcoming holidays!

 

Love,

Suzanne

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

