Skip to content

Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams

December 22, 2013

Essence on their Stay Matt Lip Creams: color-intense, long-lasting and in a cool trend for your lips – matt! the supple, smooth formula gives your lips a long-lasting matt-effect. Once you ignore the lack of capital letters (why don’t they use capitals?!), this text does sound very promising… Today I’m reviewing two of these Lip Creams!

 

 

The shades I tried out are called #02 Smooth Berry and #04 Silky Red. They costed me €1,99 each – a real bargain!

Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams

The Stay Matt Lip Creams come in a simple plastic tube and have a lipgloss-like applicator. Such a lip cream is completely different from a lipgloss, though! Once you take a look at the pigmentation of the product…

Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams

… you can tell that they can easily be used as a lipstick, they are so opaque! Compared to a lipgloss, this formula is thicker, it’s very creamy and rich. A Stay Matt Lip Cream doesn’t contain any shimmer, hence the word ‘Matt’ in the name. On the right picture (sunlight) the swatches are shiny, but they dry quickly to a matte finish.

Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams

The first picture shows my naked lips, on the second one I’m applying the Lip Cream in #02 Smooth Berry. The application of these products is very easy because of the nice wand, although you do have to be careful – they are so pigmented that every mistake will be visible. On the third picture I’m wearing the bright pink (#02 again) shade, which seems to be just a bit more shiny than the warm toned red one (#04 Silky Red). In real life they both look very matte, such a lovely velvet finish.

These Lip Creams stay put for a long time (almost a whole day!), and they easily survive a meal. Luckily they don’t dry out my lips like some long-wearing products do, the formula is actually pretty moisturising.

Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams

The full face pictures! These colours are very, very bright so I don’t think I will be wearing them very often. Where I live (the Netherlands), there are two more shades available, which are both nude (pink/brownish) – they both don’t look very appealing to me. I’d love it if Essence brought out a soft, warm toned coral shade for every day wear. Or a sophisticated dark red/plum colour, that would be stunning given the beautiful velvet finish of these Lip Creams!

Review: Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams

In spite of me whining about the colours available, these Essence Stay Matt Lip Creams are amazing. The concept reminds me of the Apocalips Lip Laquers by Rimmel London (which I already reviewed), but I must admit that I like Essence’s version (which is about six times cheaper!) better. The formula is less wet and longer lasting, and the shades are prettier.

Oh, and they smell like vanilla flavoured ice cream. That’s a bonus!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

