Skip to content

Christmassy FOTD: Silver Bells

December 26, 2013

Silver bells, silver bells… It’s Christmas time in the city… I hope you all had a wonderful time these past few days, and that Santa gave you lots of pretty make up products. I got a book about bridal make up (Makeup makeovers: weddings by Robert Jones), a refill of the Japanese Cherry Blossom scent by the Body Shop (just in time – my first bottle is almost empty), and the Miss Dior Eau De Toilette I wanted so badlyAnyway – on the second Christmas day, I decided to wear festive silver eye make up for a party I attended. I’d like to show you the look I created…

 

I’m proud to say that I pushed myself out of my comfort zone! I don’t wear grey or silver eyeshadows very often, I love to stick to my trusted copper/gold/brown shades. However, I was wearing a black with silver dress, a warm toned eye look would not have been the right choice paired with those clothes. So here’s what I came up with…

Christmassy FOTD: Silver Bells

It looks pretty simple but it took me ages to create this look! I was fiddling with lots of different products, and some of them just didn’t want to cooperate… The final look turned out quite nice, though – at least, that’s what I think.

Christmassy FOTD: Silver Bells

Let me quickly tell you what I did to achieve this look. I used two silver cream eyeshadows by Catrice (the non-cooperative ones) as a base, on top of them I applied a silver eyeshadow (again by Catrice) and a darker silver/blue one (Gunmetal from Urban Decay’s Naked Palette). I blended these colours upwards using Buck and Naked (also from the Naked Palette). After this, I lined my upper and lower lash line with a mixture of Gunmetal and a Khol liner + gel liner (both by Maybelline). I created a wing, which I blended out a bit for a more subtle effect. Now, I think I used some more eyeshadows in the process, but I can’t remember and they didn’t really show up anyway. Lastly I curled my lashes and applied two coats of mascara.

Christmassy FOTD: Silver Bells

For my lips I chose a coral lipstick (by L’Oréal Paris), which I lightly dabbed on for a subtle hint of colour.

Christmassy FOTD: Silver Bells

And here’s the full face picture! I used the same foundation, concealer, powder and blusher as always, so that’s kind of boring. I also did some highlighting and contouring, using a beautiful highlighter by L’Oréal and – of course – my NYX Blush in Taupe.

I just have to show you the scent I wore that day…

Christmassy FOTD: Silver Bells

… the Miss Dior Scent I got for Christmas. It smells divine, I love it so much! Besides this perfume, here’s a list of every product I used.

 

FACE:

  • Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25h Foundation #303 True Nude
  • Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation #52 – featured in my October Favourites
  • Maybelline New York The Eraser Concealer #Light – review
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair
  • KIKO Soft Touch Blush #108
  • L’Oréal Paris Glam Bronze Sun Radiance Trio #201
  • NYX Blush #PB11 Taupe – review

 

EYES + BROWS:

  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – review
  • Catrice Made To Stay Longlasting Eyeshadow #010 Pearly Harbour + #030 Star Was Here!
  • Catrice Absolute Eye Colour #130 Sitting On A Volcano – review
  • Urban Decay The Naked Palette – review
  • Maybelline New York Master Drama Khol Liner #Ultra Black – review
  • Maybelline New York Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24h #01 Black
  • HEMA Eyelash Curler
  • Max Factor Masterpiece Max Mascara #Black
  • HEMA Eyebrow Pencil #11
  • Catrice Lash/Brow Designer Gel

 

LIPS:

 

So, that was the festive Christmas make up look I promised you earlier – I hope you liked it. Let’s see what I can come up with for New Years Eve…

 

Love,

Suzanne

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2013 10:51 pm

    very pretty smokey eye :) Steph x

  2. insidemywonderland7 permalink
    December 30, 2013 4:31 pm

    I’m in love with your eyebrows! They’re amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

