Skip to content

Sparkly NYE Nails

December 31, 2013

Just 12 more hours until 2014… This evening we’re hosting a party at my house, I’m so excited! What gets me even more excited for a party, is doing my nails – but unfortunately my nails were already done. That’s when I decided to kidnap my sister to do her nails for tonight. The result: glamorous, sparkly NYE nails!

 

 

Up close, the manicure looks like this:

Sparkly NYE Nails

I went for a dark base, with an ombre glitter effect on top. I used two different coloured glitter polishes, to make the design extra interesting.

Sparkly NYE Nails

These are the steps:

  1. Apply a base coat – this is super important because you do not want the black polish to stain you nails!
  2. Apply the base colour, this can be any colour but remember that the glitters will show up better when you use a dark – or even a black, like I did – polish. You may need to apply multiple coats to get an opaque finish!
  3. Now it’s time for some glitter! Firstly, I applied a blue glitter polish to the upper half of the nails. After allowing the polish to dry, I applied another coat of the same polish, this time only to the tip of the nails. This creates the ombre effect!
  4. I repeated step 4, this time using a silver glitter polish.
  5. I finished off with a clear topcoat, this can be the same polish as used in step 1.

Sparkly NYE Nails

These are the polishes I used, from left to right:

  • Sally Hansen  Xtreme Wear Nail Color #28 Black Out
  • Fogan Cosmetics Nail Polish #48
  • Essence Nail Art Twins Glitter Topper #02 Julia
  • Rimmel London 60 Seconds Nail Polish #740 Clear

Sparkly NYE Nails

Sparkly, shiny and chic –  I think this is the perfect nail art design for New Years Eve. I hope that you like it too, and that you maybe got some inspiration  for your own manicure tonight. Have fun!

 

Love,

Suzanne

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marion permalink
    January 1, 2014 8:33 pm

    What a nice sister you have!

Leave a Reply

