Skip to content

FOTD: New Years Eye

January 7, 2014

Let me ask you: is there a better occasion to glam up your eyes than New Years Eve? I don’t think so, that’s why I went all out last week, creating a dramatic bronze smokey cat eye. If you’re interested, click Read more!

 

 

Firstly, let’s get the boring part out of the way…

FOTD: New Years Eye

… the lips! Once again, I decided to wear a neutral lip shade, to really make the eyes stand out. Once again, I tried a lot of different lipsticks, stains and glosses. Once again, I went for the Coral Garden lipstick by Rimmel!

FOTD: New Years Eye

On to the eye make up! It took me quite some time to create this eye look, it also took quite an impressive amount of different products… If you want to know which exact products I used, there’s a list below.

FOTD: New Years Eye

Here’s how I created the look. I started off by applying an eyeshadow base, and then NYX’ Jumbo Eye Pencil (in the very popular shade Milk) on top of that. I’m glad I did this, because the white base really made the eyeshadows stand out.

After this I applied a bunch of eyeshadows, I hope I remember correctly but I think I started with the duo by Inglot. I applied a wash of the lightest shade to my lid, and the darker shade in my crease (you can see this eyeshadow on the picture, it’s the burnt copper shade just above the crease). I also applied a few other eyeshadows to my crease, mostly dark brown shades from my Sleek + Urban Decay eyeshadow palettes. After this, I blended them out using Buck from the Naked Palette, and Gift Basket from the Oh So Special palette on the lid. Then I applied a few other eyeshadows, but I don’t remember – I’m sorry for that.

Because I wanted a vibrant copper effect on the inner half of my lid, I applied a mixture of a lose pigment and KIKO’s Mixing Solution to that area. Then I highlighted my inner corner even more, using a highlighter pen by Catrice, and Half Baked (Naked Palette) on most the inner part of my lower lash line. Some eyeshadows I also applied to my lower lash line were: Smog, DarkhorseBoxed, Gift Basket and Noir

I just felt like this look needed a dark edge, so I lined my upper and lower waterline with a black Kohl pencil (Rimmel) and my upper lashline with a mixture of a gel eyeliner (Maybelline) and an eye pencil (Maybelline) – also black.

After applying mascara, I decided that this wasn’t enough – which means: falsies! However, I applied the fake eyelashes a few hours later, just before the party. Unfortunately it was too dark to take nice photographs, but here’s a crappy picture below:

FOTD: New Years Eye

I apologize for the creepy stare, I was only taking crazy pictures that evening… At least you can see the lashes properly!

FOTD: New Years Eye

As always, here’s a list of the products I used creating the look:

 

EYES

  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – review
  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil #604 Milk – review coming up!
  • Urban Decay The Naked Palette #1: Naked, Buck, Half Baked, Smog and Darkhorse – review
  • Sleek iDivine Mineral Based Eyeshadow Palette #658 Oh So Special: Boxed, Gift Basket and Noir
  • Inglot Freedom System Eyeshadow Palette – review
  • Catrice Made To Stay Highlighter Pen #020 Eye Want!
  • Catrice Intensif’ Eye Wet & Dry Eyeshadow #030 Vanilla Sky Ride
  • KIKO Mixing Solution
  • Etos Pure Pigments #102
  • Maybelline New York Master Drama Khol Liner #Ultra Black – review
  • Maybelline New York Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24h #01 Black
  • Rimmel London Soft Kohl Kajal Eye Liner Pencil #061 Jet Black
  • HEMA Eyelash Curler
  • Maybelline New York Volum’ Express One By One Waterproof Mascara – review

 

BROWS

  • HEMA Eyebrow Pencil #09 + #11
  • Catrice Lash/Brow Designer Gel

 

FACE

  • Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25h Foundation #303 True Nude
  • Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation #52 – featured in my October Favourites
  • Maybelline New York The Eraser Concealer #Light – review
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair
  • L’Oréal Paris Glam Bronze Sun Radiance Trio #201
  • NYX Blush #PB11 Taupe – review

 

LIPS

  • Rimmel London Moisture Renew Lipstick #230 Coral Garden – review

 

I almost forgot: HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

Love,

Suzane

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2014 9:43 pm

    Beautiful eyelook ! x

  2. January 11, 2014 2:00 am

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

