Skip to content

Review: Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation

January 11, 2014

Ever since I discovered the Healthy Mix Foundation, I’ve been using it very frequently. Maybe you’ve noticed that already; when you look at my FOTD blogposts, you can always find this foundation in the list of products used.

It’s about time that I wrote a proper review about this amazing product!

 

I’ve recently bought a new bottle of the Healthy Mix Foundation, here’s a comparison of the old (left) and the new (right) packaging:

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation

The new packaging looks more expensive, mainly because they replaced the plastic by glass. If you ask me, this is a disadvantage – the plastic bottle is smaller (they both contain 30 ML), lighter and it won’t break when you drop it (this has happened a few times, for instance when I tried to put ten products onto my head in the 2013 product awards video).

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation

The pictures above show you the process of applying and blending the Healthy Mix Foundation. I used the newest one – I bought a darker shade (#53 Light Beige), because the other one (#52 Vanille) was too light for me. As you can see #53 is too dark, but that’s okay because I can mix the two to get the perfect shade for my skin tone.

The foundation doesn’t contain any shimmer but is does give your skin a fairy dewy finish, especially in the sunlight (the picture below on the right). The texture of this product is great, quite liquidy and therefore easily blendable.

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation

On the first picture I’m not wearing any make up products – except for a bit of eyebrow gel.

The second photo is my face after applying a mixture of both the lighter (#52) and the darker shade (#53) of the Healthy Mix Foundation (with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush). It completely cancelled out the redness in my face, while still looking natural. I absolutely love how my skin looks, and it’s all because of the fabulous Healthy Mix Foundation.

After using concealer (The Eraser by Maybelline) underneath my eyes and beside my nostrils, blusher (Rose Gold by Sleek), a contouring powder (Taupe by NYX) and a setting powder (Stay Matte by Rimmel), I took the third picture. I don’t think you need to apply powder – the foundation isn’t that dewy – but it does look prettier.

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation

Let’s take a closer look! This picture was taken before applying the concealer, so that you can really see the effect of the Healthy Mix Foundation on my skin. This foundation doesn’t amplify the dry patches on my nose, it even makes them disappear!  After a few hours, the foundation does cling on to dry patches and other imperfections a little bit, though. Other than that you can’t see the foundation at all; it just looks smooth and natural – thanks to the moisturising formula.

Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation

I think it’s obvious: I love Bourjois Paris’ Healthy Mix Foundation! It makes my skin go from dry and red to smooth and perfect.

I definitely recommend this foundation, and I know I will be buying a lot more bottles of it!

 

Love,

Suzanne

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2014 1:46 am

    I love your blog! Just discovered it looking for reviews on the Collection concealer :)
    Just wondering if you have tried the Revlon ColorStay Foundation and your thoughts on it? I suffer from a lot of redness and need good coverage, but if the Collection concealer is as good as people say I’m thinking I don’t need such a full coverage foundation :)
    Thank you!

    http://www.thegirlnovice.blogspot.com – fashion/beauty
    http://www.thebloggingnovice.blogspot.com – culture blog

    • January 12, 2014 12:32 pm

      Thanks!
      I haven’t tried the ColorStay Foundation myself, but I’ve heard many great things about it so I’m tempted to buy it… When I do, I’ll make sure to write a review about it!
      I think the Collection concealer will definitely cover up the redness, but the formula is quite dry so it might look cakey. Maybe the Eraser Eye Concealer by Maybelline is a better option for you? Here’s a review about that one: https://makeupyamind.wordpress.com/2013/11/24/review-maybelline-new-york-the-eraser-eye-concealer/. I hope you’ll find what you’re looking for :)
      Oh and by the way, I totally agree with your thoughts on Gravity!
      Love,
      Suzanne

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation | Make Up Your Mind
  2. The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash | Make Up Your Mind
  3. Review: Bourjois Paris Colorissimo Lip Palettes | Make Up Your Mind
  4. FOTD: Smudged Liner | Make Up Your Mind
  5. What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated) | Make Up Your Mind
  6. Review: Bourjois Paris Touche Healthy Mix Brush Concealer | Make Up Your Mind
  7. FOTD: Subtle Fuchsia | Make Up Your Mind
  8. FOTD: Featuring an old friend! | Make Up Your Mind
  9. Review: L’Oréal Paris Eau de Teint Foundation | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

