Skip to content

The Lipstick Challenge

January 26, 2014

A week ago I wrote this blog post, where I announced the Lipstick Challenge. I kept my promise: last week was all about lip products for me. Every day but one (I can explain!) I used a lipstick/lipgloss and I took a few pictures of the look.

Curious? Click Read more!

 

This challenge was harder than I thought, because I kept forgetting to reapply the lip product during the day. I also skipped a day (Friday) because I was feeling a bit ill, I’m sorry!

Other than that, here are the photographs…

The Lipstick Challenge

MONDAY – I wore a red jumper, so I went all out with a matching red lipstick by Rimmel – for product details, check the list below. I wasn’t digging the completely matte look, so I grabbed a shimmery golden eyeshadow (Half baked from the Naked Palette) and applied it lightly to the centre of my upper and lower lip. I really like the velvet look! The lipstick was very drying though, my lips didn’t like it at all.

The Lipstick Challenge

TUESDAY – After the bold look on Monday, I kept it simple the next day. I just used a peachy lipgloss by Miss Sporty, it’s got a beautiful shine! The gloss felt a bit too sticky on my lips – then again, that did mean more staying power. After wearing the lipgloss, my lips felt very smooth. One more thing that’s great about this product, is the fact that I don’t have to look in a mirror to reapply it. I will be wearing this gloss more often in the future!

The Lipstick Challenge

WEDNESDAY – I own this NYC lipstick for years now – I don’t even think they sell it anymore – but I’ve only used it a few times. This lipstick looks purple but it turns out to be a pretty pink shade once you apply it. It does have a metallic sheen to it, which I pretty much hate in lipsticks. That’s why I applied it very lightly to my lips, and I quite like the result! The cheap looking packaging is horrible though, because the lipstick sticks out when you put the lid on it – which always leads to smudges…

The Lipstick Challenge

THURSDAY – On this picture I’m wearing my beloved MAC lipstick. I think it’s more a summer lipstick, but when I dab it lightly on to my lips it’s also nice during winter times. I like the colour and the creamy finish of this lipstick, it looks very fresh and pretty. It did enhance the dry patches on my lips, so I’ll have to remember to first put on a lip balm when I want to wear it again.

The Lipstick Challenge

SATURDAY – I have a hate-love relationship with this Catrice lipstick. It’s extremely creamy and greasy, so it makes a mess every time I open the tube. Also, the lipstick bullet broke and it keeps getting stuck in the lid – argh! Maybe I should depot it… Anyway, I do like the warm pink colour a lot. It’s too bright for my taste, but if you dab it on with your finger the result is absolutely stunning. This lipstick feels very nice on my lips, very smooth and creamy. Also, it stains the lips a bit, so the colour is pretty long lasting.

The Lipstick Challenge

SUNDAY – I didn’t leave the house today, so what’s the point in wearing make up? The only product I used was this lip balm by Victoria’s Secret, which looks more like a lipgloss to me. The shine and subtle pink colour are both stunning, and the lip balm really is smoothing – like it says on the packaging. I don’t like the peppermint smell that much, but other than that this lip balm is fabulous!

The Lipstick Challenge

Take a look at the swatches! My favourites are number 1 (Monday) and number 5 (Saturday), but to be fair I love them all!

The Lipstick Challenge

These are the six lip products I wore this week:

  1. Rimmel London Lasting Finish By Kate Moss Matte Lipstick #111 Kiss Of Life
  2. Miss Sporty Hollywood Forever Lipgloss #168 The Miss – review
  3. NYC Ultra Last Lipstick #403 Rose Petal
  4. MAC Amplified Creme Lipstick #A43 Vegas Volt – review
  5. Catrice Ultimate Shine Lipstick #210 Kiss Kiss Hibiskiss
  6. PINK by Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Soothing Lip Balm #Pink Sugar

 

I hope you liked this little challenge of mine, I’ll do it again sometime! That rhymed. Almost.

 

Love,

Suzanne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2014 6:19 pm

    My favourite lipstick is 111 of Rimmel London! :)

Trackbacks

  1. January Favourites | Make Up Your Mind
  2. 5 Sexy Lip Products | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

