Skip to content

January Favourites

February 2, 2014

Finally, February is here! I definitely agree with people who think January is the most depressing month of the year, but I did find a few lovely beauty products that cheered me up during this past month. Come take a look at my January favourites!

 

 

By the way: I didn’t write a blog post about my December Favourites, instead I created a video about my favourite products of 2013. Click here to watch that video!

January Favourites

Let’s start with my ultimate favourite of this month: the Miss Dior Eau De Toilette I got for Christmas. This product was on my high-end beauty wish list (click!), and I was so happy when my parents decided to give it to me! The scent is delicate, feminine and a bit sultry, yet fresh enough for wearing it during the day. I love it!

January Favourites

Another product that has definitely been a favourite of mine, is this Duo-Fiber Contour Brush by Real Techniques. I bought this brush recently, and ever since I’ve been using it many times with my favourite contouring powder (NYX Blush in Taupe) and some of my cream blushes. This brush came in a set with two other duo-fiber brushes; last week I wrote a review about that set called the Real Techniques Duo-Fiber Collection.

January Favourites

The first make up favourite I want to talk about is this lipstick by Catrice, called Ultimate Shine Lipstick #210 Kiss Kiss Hibiskiss. The formula is a nightmare, it’s way too creamy so it makes a mess every time I use it. Also, the lipstick bullet broke and it keeps getting stuck in the lid… However, the colour of this lipstick is gorgeous – especially when you dab it on to your lips using your finger. Click here to see my blog post about The Lipstick Challenge, which features pictures of me wearing the lipstick.

I’ve been using this Sephora Mattifying Foundation #26 for months now – you can probably tell that by looking at the pan showing through! This foundation is actually pretty high-coverage, considering that it’s a pressed powder. It also does a great job mattifying my skin, and it’s just very easy and quick to put on. I use this product when I don’t have much time, but when I still want an extra bit of coverage. The Real Techniques Buffing Brush (review) is perfect for buffing on this foundation!

January Favourites

Now, a few skin care products! The Vitamin E Face Mist by the Body Shop is very refreshing, I love using it in the Summer to cool down. However, this face mist is also very nice during winter times, because it gives my dry skin a quick boost of moisture. Also, it’s great for spraying it on after you’ve done your make up, to make the result look less cakey.

This Freeman Avocado & Oatmeal Clay Mask is the perfect treatment for clogged pores. I use it when my skin feels gross and dirty, like when I didn’t take off my make up thoroughly the night before. I apply this mask to my face and then I leave it on for ten minutes – not longer than that because then it will start to really dry out my skin. After rinsing it off my skin feels clean and soft, it’s amazing!

January Favourites

During the past month, I’ve been wearing this blue polish so much! It’s called OPI Nail Lacquer #Z20 Yodel Me On My Cell, and the colour is absolutely stunning. It contains tiny green glitters that give the polish a green sheen to it. I was disappointed when I firstly applied it though, because the formula isn’t opaque at all. You need at least three coats for a nice result, which sucks. But then again, the colour is so beautiful that I love this nail lacquer anyway.

The second bottle on the picture is Maybellines Color Show Brocades #220 Knitted Gold. I wore this beautiful rose gold polish all the time during the holidays, it’s nude-yet-glamorous and it goes well with many different pieces of clothing. I heard people complaining that it started chipping after just one day, but on my nails this polish lasts for ages!

January Favourites

That’s it for my January favourites, let’s see what February brings us!

 

Love,

Suzanne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2014 8:30 pm

    I’ve been wanting Miss Dior… what a cute bottle! Great post :-)

Trackbacks

  1. Tag: Products I regret buying | Make Up Your Mind
  2. February Favourites | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

