Skip to content

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

February 11, 2014

Back in the days, when I started using make up, I didn’t like lipgloss at all. The thought of sticky, way too shiny, gross-looking lips just didn’t seem that appealing to me.

However, a while ago I learned that not all lipglosses are like that. Some are actually very pretty…

 

 

Today I’m reviewing four lipglosses for you, from drug store to high end. Here they are:

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

From left to right

  • Rimmel London Vinyl Gloss #530 Starlet
  • Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant Gloss
  • Sephora Glossy Gloss #03 Precious Pink
  • Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss #006 Strawberry

  4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

The first lipgloss I want to talk about is the one by Rimmel. To be honest, I was disappointed in both the packaging and the actual product. Although the wand is okay, the rest of the packaging looks a bit cheap to me. I don’t like the lipgloss either, it’s extremely sticky – which isn’t exactly a pleasant feeling on your lips. The colour (a cool pink shade) is quite pretty, but the metallic silver sparkles are not. That’s just my opinion, though, I just don’t like metallic looking lips.

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

I already went though two tins of Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant, click here to read about why I love that stuff so much. Of course I had to try the lipgloss version of this wonderful balm, which is a clear, scentless gloss without any shimmers. Very basic, but I like it! The gloss definitely makes my lips shinier, but the effect is very subtle – perfect for pairing it with any eye look. Now, let’s talk about the texture! It’s absolutely divine, very smooth and non-sticky. This gloss is just as moisturising as the lip balm, so you get a shine and a treatment all in one.

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

This ‘Glossy Gloss’ (weird name) by Sephora looks a bit like the previous one, it’s also a very neutral lipgloss that can be worn with any eye look. But in contrary to the Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant Gloss, this lipgloss does give your lips a hint of colour. It’s a very subtle sparkly peach/pink shade that anyone could get away with, I like it! The texture is a bit sticky, but not as horribly feeling as the gloss by Rimmel. I don’t like the watermelon scent, but I got used to that. I’m not blown away by this Sephora Glossy Gloss, but I do like it.

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

I recently bought this Colorburst Lipgloss by Revlon, because I really wanted to try more of Revlons products. This particular shade, called Strawberry, is a very juicy and fresh pink colour. It contains many tiny glitters that give your lips a pretty sheen to them. I’m impressed by the texture, it feels very nice and soft on my lips. I was silently hoping that this gloss would actually smell like strawberries, but unfortunately it doesn’t – it has a nasty chemical scent. But as I said before, I do like the look of this lipgloss and I think it would suit many different people!

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

Here you can see close ups of my lips, wearing 1) nothing; 2) Rimmel London Vinyl Gloss #530 Starlet; 3) Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant Gloss; 4) Sephora Glossy Gloss #03 Precious Pink and 5) Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss #006 Strawberry.

Just a little bit about the staying power of these lipglosses. Overall I find that lipglosses don’t last on me very long; after one or two hours the colour and shine are both gone. I don’t mind that, because it’s very quick and easy to reapply a lipgloss – I don’t even need a mirror. I din’t notice remarkable differences between these four products, although the stickier ones (Rimmel and Sephora) stayed on a bit longer. However, I’d rather have a non-sticky lipgloss that I’d have to reapply more often, because I can’t stand that gross sticky feeling.

4x Lipgloss Review! (Revlon, Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Sephora)

In short: I hate the one by Rimmel, like the one by Sephora and love the ones by Elizabeth Arden and Revlon. Hope that was helpful!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

