Skip to content

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

February 24, 2014

If you ask me, every woman should have a pigmented black gel eyeliner in their make up stash. My favourite one is the Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner by Maybelline, which I will be reviewing for you today.

Click Read more if you’re interested!

 

 

This is what you get when you buy the Maybelline New York Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner #01 Intense Black:

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

The cardboard packaging of this eyeliner is quite large, a bit of a waste if you ask me… It’s nice that there’s a brush included, though.

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Here you can see the size of the brush and eyeliner pot compared to my hand. The small brush is quite small and therefore reasonably precise, but I prefer using another kind of eyeliner brush for applying gel eyeliner, such as the Fine Eyeliner Brush by Zoeva (review). However, if you don’t have another eyeliner brush I’m sure this one will do just fine.

About the size of the actual gel eyeliner: such a tiny pot this is! I consider this a very good thing, simply because of the fact that gel eyeliners generally dry out quickly – so you probably won’t be finishing it anyway. Here’s the proof:

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

The left pot on the picture is the Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner I bought a year or so ago. On the left is a brand new one which I recently bought because the other one (left) has completely dried out. Such a shame, because I have to throw away this nearly full pot – but I have to because it’s too dried out to create a sharp line with it.

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Anyway, back to the new one! This eyeliner is extremely black, which I like a lot. I blended the second swatch,  that so you can see how blendable the eyeliner is. But once it’s set, it doesn’t move. Just look at the second picture – I took that one after A LOT of rubbing with water, and still you can see the eyeliner clearly. While I’m typing this, a few days (and thus a few showers) later, I still have a dark spot on my arm. Really, the lasting power of the Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner is amazing.

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Here I used the product to create a  classic winged eyeliner. I didn’t use the brush that came with the eyeliner, instead I used the Zoeva brush I mentioned before. Together these two create a beautiful sharp line, I love the result! The Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner is a dream to work with because of the lovely texture – not too liquid, not too dry but perfectly smooth.

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 

Here I show you that you can blend the eyeliner, as long as you’re working quickly. As you can see, the gel eyeliner can also be used to line the lower waterline – however, that does fade away quickly so I’d rather use a Kohl pencil for this.

Review: Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Besides that I don’t like the drying out part, I have only good things to say about the Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner. I especially love the rich black pigmentation and the lasting power, and I also really like the smooth formula – which makes drawing a sharp line – and even blending it – very easy.

If you’re looking for a decently priced, high-quality gel eyeliner, I’d definitely recommend this one!

 

Love,

Suzanne

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Annemijne permalink
    February 25, 2014 10:52 am

    Please give us a winged eyeliner tutorial!! yours looks amaaaasing <3

Trackbacks

  1. Empty Products (August 2014) | Make Up Your Mind
  2. Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | Make Up Your Mind
  3. A watch-inspired festive eye look | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

