Skip to content

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

March 5, 2014

As you might already know by now, I’m a sucker for lipbalm-lipstick-hybrid kind of products like the Colorburst Lip Butters by Revlon (Candy Apple and Tutti Frutti). This tiny obsession of mine made me buy two quite expensive but very gorgeous Clinique Chubby Sticks. Take a look!

 

 

I believe Clinique was the first one to bring out the fat lip pencil, and then many brands like Bourjois, Rimmel and Catrice followed the example. I don’t own any of the dupes, I just went straight to the original! In Holland, each of these sticks costs 20 euros.

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

The two sticks I bought are called the Chubby Stick Intense Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm #04 Heftiest Hibiscus and the Chubby Stick Moisturising Lip Colour Balm #05 Chunky Cherry.

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Let’s take a look at those lovely ingredients. I didn’t even know that so many types of oils exist: vegetable oil, castor seed oil, jojoba seed oil, sunflower seed oil… And then there are also a few butters and waxes in there: shea butter, mango seed butter, candelilla wax and beeswax. Another thing I should mention is that the sticks are 100% fragrance free, which makes them even more skin-friendly.

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Here’s a close up of the pencils, on the left is the shade #04 Heftiest Hibiscus and next to it is #05 Chunky Cherry. The left one is from the Chubby Stick Intense range, which means more colour pay off. The second stick is a regular Chubby Stick, so it’s sheer coverage.

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Here you can see the difference in coverage between the two sticks. They are both shiny, especially in the sunlight (right photograph), however they don’t contain any shimmer. I consider this a good thing!

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Of course I also swatched these two Chubby Sticks on my lips. The picture above shows you my lips before I put anything on them.

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Although #05 Chunky Cherry looked very sheer on my arm, it actually does give my lips quite a bit of colour to them. It’s a rosy pink shade that everyone can get away with. I’m not overly excited about the shade, it isn’t that special, but it does look pretty. The feel of this product on my lips is amazing, very soft and Revlon Lip Butter-like. But despite the extremely moisturising formula, this Chubby Stick does enhance dry patches on my lips every so slightly.

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Here I’ve applied #04 Heftiest Hibiscus to my lips. I am loving the vibrant tangerine colour! The formula feels just as creamy and moisturising as #05 Chunky Cherry, but unfortunately this stick clings to dry patches even more than the first one. Other than that the stick looks and feels amazing!

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

Here are the full face pictures. I’m sorry for the change in lightning!

Review: Clinique Chubby Sticks

The Clinique Chubby Sticks deserve a place next to the Revlon Lip Butters in my stash, I think these two products ranges are very comparable – which obviously is a huge compliment for the Chubby Sticks! I can only think of two downsides. Firstly, because of the creamy formula these sticks fade away quite quickly. After a few hours I need to reapply the product – which I don’t mind but maybe you do. Secondly, like I said before, the product clings to dry patches on my lips. This means I have to scrub my lips before applying the balm, or maybe I just suffered from a ‘bad lip day’ when I swatched these products?

Anyway, overall I’m very happy that I bought these two Chubby Sticks and I think they are definitely worth the money!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

