Skip to content

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

March 15, 2014

When I started using make up I was head over heels in love with Rimmels Lasting Finish Foundation, but I can’t remember the exact reasons why I loved that particular foundation so much. In the years that followed, I started using the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation (review), and I just forgot about the one by Rimmel. Until recently…

 

Today I’ll be reviewing the Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation!

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

First off, the packaging is great. I like plastic bottles best, as they are lighter and unbreakable – but these glass ones will do just fine. The design is pretty basic, which, for me, is a pro!

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

The foundation contains a pump, which is nice because obviously we all dig the pump foundations. However, on the website it says that this foundation comes in a tube… Maybe it differs per country?

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

I have here three shades called: #200 Soft Beige, #303 True Nude and #400 Natural Beige. In the UK there are 10 shades available, the shades I own are the fourth, ninth and tenth. I find it a bit strange that Soft Beige and True Nude are very close to each other, given the fact that there are four shades in between them. So overall: the shade range is nice, but a bit funny.

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

Here’s a before and after shot. I used a mixture between #200 Soft Beige and #303 True Nude, which I applied with my Real Rechniques Expert Face Brush (review). As you might be able to see, the foundation is too yellow for me – although I should mention that it looks less yellow in real life than on the photograph. To my opinion, this is a medium to full coverage foundation – it really covers up spots and it completely cancels out the redness in my face. It makes my skin look flawless! At least, from a distance…

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

Up close you can see the foundation, especially on the dry areas of your face. Unfortunately this got worse during the day, although you’d still have to look pretty close to actually see it.

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

I’ve taken this picture to show you what the foundation looks like in direct sunlight. Although you can see a tiny bit of shine on my nose and forehead, the finish is rather matte.

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

I keep bothering you with pictures of my face – I’m sorry! This one shows you what my skin looked like after I applied a bunch more face products to it: Maybelline New York The Eraser Eye Concealer #Light (review), L’Oréal Paris Glambronze Sun Radiance Trio #201 Blonde Harmony, Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair, NYX Blush #PB11 Taupe (review) and Catrice Defining Duo Blush #050 Apricot Smoothie.

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

And finally, the last picture of my face! I took this picture about six hours after I applied the Lasting Perfection Foundation, without any touch ups. The redness on my nose and cheeks is showing through, and overall my face looks less flawless than before. Therefore, I don’t agree with Rimmel and their ‘Lasting Perfection 25 Hour’ claim.

Review: Rimmel London Lasting Finish Foundation

I think it’s obvious that I’m not over the moon with the Rimmel London Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation. It’s okay, I guess, because it covers up blemishes and redness really well and it looks fairly natural. I’ve used this foundation before when I did the make up of actors for a play, because it’s a nice foundation to just slather on – and that’s basically what stage make up is about. Unfortunately, it’s no more than that.

 

Love,

Suzanne

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2015 12:51 pm

    Great Blog Post! I have just ordered True Beige from Fragrance Direct as it’s £3.99! Your blog was great and very informative, I had no idea which shade to go for before I found you :-)

  2. Sofia permalink
    October 3, 2016 5:06 pm

    Thk for sharing foundation picture Iam exactly searching for true nude shade303 Actually how it’s looks.

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Max Factor Face Finity Foundation | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

