Skip to content

Dupe Alert!

May 5, 2014

Let me ask you a question: why would anyone spend loads of money on a product, when a cheaper and similar – or even better – version is available? We all know what the “similar or even better version” is called: a dupe. I’m sure you love that word just as much as I do! Today I’m going to share with you a few dupes that I recently discovered.

 

I have a lot of products to show you, so let’s get started!

IMG_6867

From left to right: Essie Nail Polish #Cute As A Button, Bourjois 10 Days No Chips Nail Polish #16 Corail Rosé, Rimmel London 60 Seconds Nail Polish #415 Instyle Coral.

Dupe Alert!

Cute As A Button (left nail) is a very famous nail polish by Essie – and with good reason! Nail polishes by Essie are of high-quality and the bright, happy coral colour makes this a one-of-a-kind polish. Even though the shade is quite original, I did manage to find a few similar polishes. On my second finger (middle) I applied two coats of Corail Rosé by Bourjois Paris, which is a bit darker but still a great option if you want a vibrant coral polish. The other dupe (right) I want to show you is even more similar to Cute As A Button; it’s called Instyle Coral by Rimmel London.

IMG_6886

From left to right: Herôme Exit Damaged Nails Oil, Essence Studio Nails Caring Nail Oil.

The Herôme nail oil is one of my all time favourites: moisturising, nicely packaged, quickly absorbed and yummy smelling. As it’s quite expensive, I wanted to try out a cheaper alternative by Essence. It doesn’t work as well as the Herôme one, but it’s still a great product to use when your dry nails need that extra bit of moisture.

IMG_6870

In the front: NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil #604 Milk (review), in the back: Sephora Jumbo Liner 12HR Wear Waterproof #01 White.

Dupe Alert!

Sephora is a hit-and-miss brand for me, sometimes their make up amazes me and sometimes… not so much. This Jumbo Liner (left swatch) is one of their worst products, mainly because it’s greasy and it lacks pigment – especially when you apply it to your eyelids. Also, it has a shimmery, metallic finish which I don’t like at all. Luckily there’s a way better version: the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil (right swatch). As you can see, this pencil is very pigmented and matte, which creates a beautiful base for a vibrant eye look. Love it!

IMG_6881

From left to right: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion (review), NYX High Definition Eye Shadow Base (review).

After trying out the fabulous Urban Decay Primer Potion, I instantly knew I wouldn’t be able to find an equally great eyeshadow primer. However, the one by NYX is a nice alternative. If you’re looking for an affordable, long-lasting eye shadow base that’s easy to apply: here it is!

IMG_6894

Front to back: Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm #05 Chunky Cherry (review), NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color #041 Ballroom Blush, HEMA Lip Balm Stick #8.

Dupe Alert!

A type of lip product that I’ve been loving lately is the tinted lip balm stick, because they feel so nice and moisturising on my lips. The left swatch is one of the Clinique Chubby sticks: very amazing and unfortunately very expensive as well. These days many brands sell a similar kind of lip balm stick, for instance the NYC City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color, which you can see in the middle. I also like the Lip Balm Stick by HEMA (a Dutch brand), which is less pigmented but still very pretty looking.

IMG_6898

From left to right: Urban Decay The Naked Eyeshadow Palette (review), Sleek i-Divine Mineral Based Eyeshadow Palette #658 Oh So Special.

Dupe Alert!

You all know how I feel about the Naked Palette, and I’m certainly not the only one who loves it. Sleek noticed the Naked Palette-hype and decided to create their own eyeshadow palette containing very similar colours. On the pictures above (upper picture: shadow, lower picture: sunlight) I swatched a few similar eyeshadows. The upper row shows you the shadows from the Naked Palette and the lower row features Sleek’s versions. Although I generally like the Naked Palette more I do prefer Sleek’s black shade, as it’s matte and way more pigmented.

Dupe Alert!

So, if you’re ever lusting after the Jumbo Liner by Sephora, or Essie’s Cute As A button, you may want to think again…

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

