Skip to content

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

May 19, 2014

What’s the greatest fear of a make up lover? Personally, I can’t think of anything more terrifying than finding out that one of my favourite products isn’t available any more. For that reason, I always try to have at least one back up of my most-used beauty products. This results in me having quite a large amount of double products!

 

I’ve gathered every backup I could find in my room, take a look…

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

As I said: quite a large amount!

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

Sephora Mattifying Foundation #26 Medium – Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52 Vanille (review) – Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair & #005 Silky Beige.

First off: foundation and powder. The product on the left is a powder foundation by Sephora, which I use whenever I don’t feel like applying a liquid foundation. Of course the coverage is lower than when using a regular foundation, but it still makes my skin look nice and matte. As soon as I heard that Sephora was leaving the Netherlands (WHY?!), I got myself a backup of this lovely powder!

When I do decide to use a liquid foundation, 9 out of 10 times I grab the Healthy Mix one by Bourjois Paris. This is hands down the best foundation I’ve ever tried, because of its light and natural looking texture. As you can see they’ve changed the plastic packaging to a glass bottle – which is a downside to me, because I tend to drop things a lot… Nevertheless, I adore this foundation and I just know it’s only a matter of time until I have to buy a third bottle of it.

Another pressed powder; this one is a setting powder by Rimmel London. Especially when doing theatre make up, I’m using it so much that I decided to buy a second one. This powder does a great job at mattifying the skin and keeping it matte for hours, and it’s quite inexpensive for such a nice product!

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

Collection Lastng Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer #2 Light – Maybelline New York The Eraser Eye Concealer #Light (review).

These are my two favourite concealers, so it’s only natural that I’ve got plenty of backups. I’ve used and loved the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer for a long time now, it’s an amazing high-coverage concealer for an even more amazing price. This one isn’t available in my country, so whenever one of my friends or family members go to London I ask them to buy a couple concealers for me (which resulted in my mother and sister spending most of their holiday in Boots – whoops!).

A concealer I recently discovered is this funny looking one by Maybelline. Because of the fluffy sphere on top I was quite curious whether this concealer would work – so I bought it. Turns out it’s even more fabulous than the Collection one! After applying the concealer underneath my eyes (which is super easy because of the sphere) and blending it out (blends like a dream), I instantly look fresh and wide awake. A few weeks ago I found out that Maybelline is discontinuing this concealer (at least in Holland), I’m so sad to hear that!

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel #010 – Maybelline New York Master Drama Khol Liner #Ultra Black (review).

My favourite eyebrow product is this tinted brow gel by Catrice. Although I think grooming your brows is quite important, I’m a bit too lazy to pencil them in every morning so a tinted gel comes in very handy. It’s quick and easy to use, which is exactly why I love it so much.

The next backup of mine is the Master Drama Khol Liner by Maybelline, an extremely pigmented eye pencil. After applying this product, you have a minute or two to blend it (I do love sultry smudged eyeliner) and then it sets and stays put for the entire day. Unfortunately I go through this pencil pretty fast, I think it has to do with the soft and creamy texture. But no worries, I already got myself a backup!

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

Essence Studio Nails Caring Nail Oil – Eylure Lashfix Strip Lash Adhesive.

When my nails are dry and brittle (which is always), I love using this nail oil by Essence. It’s moisturising, easy to use, quickly absorbed and very cheap – for that reasons I just had to buy a backup!

Although I don’t wear false lashes very often, I need to have a bottle of lash glue in my stash for when I do decide to apply a pair. The Lashfix Strip Lash Adhesive by Eylure is my favourite one, because it’s strong enough to make the false lashes stay in place for hours! I also really like that the drying time is very short, so that I don’t have to wait ages before I can release the lash strip.

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

Guhl Rich Nutrition Deep Butter Mask – The Body Shop Vanilla Bliss Body Butter (review).

And finally, two lovely moisturising products. The first one is my all time favourite hair mask, a deep butter mask by Guhl. This product performs miracles, it makes my hair so soft, healthy, shiny and yummy smelling. I’ve been using this mask for years now, and I still can’t get enough of it!

Speaking about products I can’t get enough of… This Vanilla Bliss Body Butter is heaven in a jar! The body butters by The Body Shop moisturise my dry skin (especially legs) like no other product has ever done before, they truly are amazing. This particular one has a delicious warm vanilla scent to it, which lingers around for a long time – all the more reason to buy a backup!

The More The Merrier: My Backup Stash

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my backups, and I also hope that you’ve bought enough backups of your favourite products yourself. You never know…

 

Love,

Suzanne

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

