Skip to content

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

May 23, 2014

Wait… what?! 10 days no chips? Those were my thoughts exactly when I first saw this nail polish range by Bourjois Paris. I was so curious that I immediately ordered two of them – marketing done right, I suppose… If you’re as curious as I was, then go on and click read more to read my review!

 

 

I bought two shades of the Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes, called #17 Bougainvillier and #16 Corail Rosé.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

#17 Bourgainviller (left) is a rich but not that dark berry shade, perfect for wearing throughout the whole year. #16 Corail Rosé is a bright coral polish that just screams summer to me. This polish is a darker version of Essie’s Cute As A Button, which is why I featured it in my recent blog post about dupes.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

This is what the brush looks like, it’s medium sized and angled. Here comes the interesting part: on the bottle is written ‘Touch-up brush for extra hold’. That’s where the whole 10-days-no-chips-claim comes from – the fact that the angled brush is very convenient for touching up the tips of your nails when your polish is chipping. The nail polish itself isn’t going to last on your nails for 10 days – I wonder if any polish can do that sort of thing. However, I’m still going to put the polish to the test to see how long it does last.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

I started off by trying out the shade called #17 Bourgainviller. My sister volunteered to wear this polish for a few days – as nail polishes tend to chip very easily on me, I wanted to observe the lasting power on someone else.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

This is what her nails looked like after applying a base coat and two coats of the Bourjois polish. Despite the messy result, I must say that the brush is very easy to work with. I’m also very pleased with the pigmentation and the colour, it looks pretty!

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

The left picture was taken one day after applying the polish, so on the second day. There’s already a bit of tipwear showing, but that’s only visible when you take a close look. The same goes for the third day (right picture). You may notice a bit of a difference in the colour of the nail polish, that is due to lightning changes. The nails on the right picture resemble the actual colour of the polish best.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

On the fourth day (left picture), there is some serious chipping going on, especially on my sister’s middle finger and ring finger. One day later (right picture), it’s even worse – this is the point where we removed the polish because of the chipping.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

Here’s another picture showing you the lasting power of the Bourjois 10 Days No Chips Nail Polish. Sadly to say, it doesn’t perform any better than a regular polish.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

This is the second shade I bought: #16 Corail Rosé.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

This bright, summery coral shade is such a feel good colour! The texture is equally as nice as with the other shade: thin, pigmented and quickly drying. This one contains tiny golden sparkles, but – luckily – the effect isn’t noticeable at all once you’ve applied it.

Review: Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes

My final opinion about the Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polishes? I quite like the brush, the formula and the shade range, but I’m very disappointed by the lasting power. Obviously I didn’t expect the polish to last for 10 whole days without any chips – I would have liked for them to chip less than your average nail polish, though. Bourjois, you let me down a bit!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

