Skip to content

May Favourites

June 3, 2014

May has come to an end, which means that it’s time for me to show you the products I’ve loved most during the past month. Actually, make that the past two months, as I posted about my Empties instead of my monthly favourites at the end of April. So I’ve got some catching up to do… Click more to read this extra long blog post about my May Favourites!

 

I have a whole bunch of products to talk about – a lot of make up, a nail polish, a bit of skin care and a perfume – so let’s get started!

May Favourites

Every once in a while I like to apply a face mask, but I’m not a huge fan of them because I don’t really notice a difference after using one. I tend use a mask when I want to relax, not so much for treating my skin. However, I’ve discovered a mask that actually does help improve my skin: the Nourishing Honey Mask by Nivea. It’s an inexpensive mask (about one euro per use) that’s easy to work with and smells very nice. On the website it says: “… pampers and soothes dry and stressed skin, leaves your skin feeling saturated with moisture” – and really, it does just that!

May Favourites

Last month I rediscovered an old favourite of mine: the Esprit Jeans Style Eau De Toilette. This was one of my very first perfumes and I loved wearing this scent when I was younger. Now, whenever I spray it on, it reminds me of that time – that’s one of the reasons why I like it. The scent itself isn’t a one-of-a-kind scent, but I do like it because it’s sweet, fresh and flowery at the same time.

May Favourites

There I was, just wandering around in the Action (a Dutch shop that sells loads of different products for extremely low prices), when I suddenly came across a box filled with Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polishes. And believe me or not, they were sold for 1 Euro each! Obviously I freaked out, but then I had a closer look and I decided that I didn’t really like the colours – they only had the ugly grey ones in stock. I did like the clear polish (#170 Clear’d for Takeoff), though… Long story short: I bought it, I used it, I loved it! This polish makes for a great top coat, because it’s fast drying and very shiny looking.

May Favourites

 

Review: Lip Creams by Bourjois & Catrice

During the past month I’ve fallen deeply in love with the Rouge Edition Velvet #02 Frambourjoise. The gorgeous colour, the semi matte finish, the pigmentation and the longevity make this a truly amazing lip cream. The texture is also great; you don’t even feel the product on your lips when you’re wearing it, and when you take it off your lips aren’t dried out at all.

I’m wearing the Rouge Edition Velvet on the picture on the left, doesn’t it look beautiful and sophisticated? For more information and pictures you can go to my review.

So far I’ve restrained myself from buying the other colours from the range (Hot Pepper looks so pretty!), but I just know that it’s only a matter of time…

 

May Favourites

I just had to include this recent purchase of mine: a MAC Pro Palette containing four neutral eyeshadows called All That Glitters, Woodwinked, Cork, and Espresso. I’ve been wearing these eyeshadows almost every day, and I’ve also used them on a client – these colours are great for bridal make up looks! I wasn’t blown away by the pigmentation, but that does make it easier to build up and blend the product. Of course I wrote a review about the palette, click here to read the blog post.

May Favourites

This is the Flormar Matte Mono Eye Shadow #MO7 – perhaps the colour looks familiar to you? It’s extremely similar to the MAC eyeshadow called Espresso, which I just mentioned. The muddy dark brown shade makes for a perfect lashline/outer V/crease kind of colour, and I love using it for just that. The texture of the product is a bit crumbly, especially when compared to the MAC version. However, this eyeshadow costed me a few Euros, and we all know how expensive the MAC ones are…

May Favourites

Another eyeshadow – this is the L’Oréal Paris Infaillible Eyeshadow #002 Hourglass Beige. It’s a shimmery shade of golden/beige, which looks beautiful on it’s own or on top of another eyeshadow. I’ve been using this to highlight the centre of my eyelid, I love the subtle glow it gives!

May Favourites

This photograph shows you the two mono eyeshadows: Flormar Matte Mono Eye Shadow #MO7 (left) and L’Oréal Paris Infaillible Eyeshadow #002 Hourglass Beige (right; it looks more subtle and less white in real life).

May Favourites

These were my favourite products of May, I’m already looking forward to my June Favourites blog post… I just love writing about products I love!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

