Skip to content

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

June 13, 2014

Ever since I first tried out the Urban Decay Naked Palette, I’ve been wanting to buy the second one as well. It’s so expensive, though… Luckily I got my hands on a great dupe for the Naked 2 – at least, that’s what I’ve heard. Let me introduce you to the In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette by W7!

 

 

This is what the palette looks like (front and back):

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

The design of the palette does look an awful lot like the Naked 2 Palette, and the shade selection (both warm and cool toned neutrals) is very similar as well.

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

The inside looks extremely Urban Decay-ish as well, although this palette doesn’t contain a mirror. I’ve looked up a few reviews of the Naked 2 Palette, and I came to the conclusion that every W7 eyeshadow is a perfect match to the Urban Decay one. They are even in the same order!

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

This eyeshadow brush was included. I think we all feel the same about these crappy duo-ended brushes that come with eyeshadow palettes… That’s right, we instantly throw them away.

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

Let’s take a look at the first six eyeshadows from the In The Buff Palette. The two pictures on the left show you what the eyeshadows look like in the shadow, and the pictures on the right feature the same eyeshadows in the sunlight. From left to right:

  • Buff: an off-white, matte highlighter. It doesn’t show up here at all, because it isn’t very pigmented and the shade is close to my skin colour. It may not look very special, but such an eyeshadow is great for blending out other colours.
  • Camel: a shimmery golden shade. This one looks a lot like Half baked from the Naked Palette, although the pigmentation is not as great.
  • Sand: a pale pink eyeshadow with a satin finish. I don’t like this type of colour, but some others might.
  • Dust: a shimmery copper shade, very pigmented and pretty!
  • Chocolate: a matte taupe, somewhere in between brown and purple. I love using such a shade in my crease when creating a cool toned smokey eye.
  • Topaz: a dark brown with less shimmers than Camel and Dust, but more shimmery than Sand.

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

The last six eyeshadows are darker and more pigmented. From left to right:

  • Earth: a medium brown eyeshadow with a satin finish. To me, it looks a bit like the grown-up version of Camel.
  • Storm: a brownish grey shade which also has a satin finish – or maybe it’s a bit more shimmery than that.
  • Silk: a metallic pearly shade, I only use these kinds of eyeshadows to highlight my inner corners.
  • Wave: a very shimmery brown/pink shade. It looks a bit like Dust, but it has more of a pink/purple undertone which makes it less warm.
  • Thunder: a dark brown (satin finish) with a strong purple undertone.
  • Onyx: a matte black shade, love the pigmentation!

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

Of course I also tried out the eyeshadows on my eyes, here you can see a simple, mostly matte look. After priming my eyes with the NYX HD Eye Shadow Base I used Buff on my lid, Chocolate in my crease and Silk in the inner corner. Then I did a winged eyeliner with the black shade called Onynx, which turned out pretty well because of the great pigmentation. I also lined my lower lashline, using both Onynx and Chocolate. On the second picture (right) you can see what the eyeshadows looked like at the end of the day – there is not very much left of them, unfortunately.

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

For the second eye look I chose the darker and more shimmery shades to create a bronze smokey eye with. First I primed my eyes, and then I applied a wash of Camel and Earth to my eyelids. Again I used Chocolate in my crease, it’s just such a nice contouring shade. On the outer part of my eyelid and my upper and lower lash line, I applied Topaz mixed with a bit of Onyx. And that’s it! At the end of the day (the second picture) the eyeshadows look a bit less intense but other than that this smokey eye has lasted me all day long. I find that the shimmery eyeshadows do not only last longer than the matte ones, they are also easier to work with. All eyeshadows from this palette are a bit hard to blend, though.

Review: W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette

Although I generally really like the W7 In The Buff Natural Nudes Eye Colour Palette, I do have a few points of criticism. I was disappointed by the pigmentation of some of the (lightest) shades and by the lasting power of some. Also, I would have liked to see a few more cool toned eyeshadows in this palette, as the shade selection is rather warm. Other than that, I think this palette is great value for money! I would definitely recommend it to you, especially when you’re looking for a dupe for the Naked 2 Palette.

 

Love,

Suzanne

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2015 6:50 pm

    I just bought In the Nudes in a Spanish online store, I have cost me sooo cheap ( € 5.95) and it arrive to me perfect. I I have bought many more things. I leave the link. Enjoy!

    http://www.maquilleo.com/es/371-paletas-de-sombras

Trackbacks

  1. FOTD: Featuring an old friend! | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

