Skip to content

FOTD: Smudged Liner

June 17, 2014

When lining my eyes, I usually tend to go for an eyeshadow/kohl pencil for soft definition, or a gel eyeliner for a sharp winged line. However, lately I discovered a new method that combines these two looks: smudged gel eyeliner. It’s extremely quick and effortless, but it looks very pretty. Here’s a Smudged Liner FOTD, click Read more if you’re curious!

 

FOTD: Smudged Liner

After creating a soft, warm toned eye look with my two favourite palettes by MAC and Urban Decay (I’ve listed the exact shadows below), I used a black gel eyeliner together with an angled liner brush to draw a line very close to my upper lashline. Before the eyeliner had completely dried, I quickly smudged the line upwards with a smudger brush. I also blended it outwards a bit to make a soft wing. Smudging the line will make it lose some of its intensity, so afterwards you can always go back in with the gel eyeliner and tightline your lash line – which is what I did.

FOTD: Smudged Liner

On this picture you can see the smudged eyeliner a bit better. Of course I also lined my lower lash line with eyeshadow and coated my lashes with mascara.

FOTD: Smudged Liner

I love the definition that this smudged liner gives to my eyes, without looking as harsh as a regular winged eyeliner. It’s the best of both worlds! I’ve also been using this technique when doing bridal make up, because it just suits everybody’s eye colour and shape.

FOTD: Smudged Liner

This is the final look! On my lips I went for a semi-matte rosy shade, to complement the eye make up.

FOTD: Smudged Liner

These are the products I used:

  • Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52 Vanille – review
  • Maybelline New York The Eraser Eye Concealer #Light – review
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair
  • Rimmel London Natural Bronzer #022 Sun Bronze
  • Catrice Defining Duo Blush #050 Apricot Smoothie
  • NYX High Definition Eyeshadow Base – review
  • MAC Pro Eyeshadow Palette: All That Glitters, Cork and Espressoreview
  • Urban Decay Naked Palette: Buck and Darkhorsereview
  • Maybelline New York Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner #01 Black
  • HEMA Eyelash Curler
  • Maybelline New York One by One Volum’ Express Mascara – review
  • Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel #010
  • Bourjois Paris Colorissimo Lips Palette #03 Roses Fashion: shade in the middle – review

 

I’d definitely recommend trying out smudging your gel eyeliner, it’s such a little technique that can make such a big difference!

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lookbeyondbeauty permalink
    June 18, 2014 6:23 pm

    Looks awesome! :)
    Lets follow each other? :) http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

