Skip to content

Review: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm

June 29, 2014

It seems like I just can’t get enough of Revlon’s lip products. Every time I come across a new type of balmy, shiny, pigmented goodness of theirs, I have to buy it. The Colorburst Lacquer Balms were no exception to that – actually I’m glad that I managed to just buy one of them. It’s a bright in-your-face colour called #135 Provocateur, here’s a review!

 

 

As you might have guessed, this is one of these Chubby Stick inspired lip balm sticks. I reviewed two of the Clinique Chubby Sticks before, and I can only hope that this one by Revlon is just as good as they are!

Review: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm

How pretty does this look?! The packaging is bright, chic and very shiny. Revlon also has brought out a matte version of the Lacquer Balm, which are called the Colorburst Matte Balms and come in a matte packaging.

Review: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm

As I said before, the shade is called #135 Provocateur. In the Etos in the Netherlands were four shades available, including a vampy purple colour. I considered buying that purple shade instead of this one, but eventually I decided on getting the lipstick I knew would wear the most. And I don’t regret that decision because…

Review: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm

… the red colour looks beautiful! The first picture shows you my lips with nothing on them. Then I applied one coat of the Lacquer Balm, and took the second picture. The product is extremely pigmented, so you have to be precise when you apply it. Thanks to the pointy tip, that isn’t a problem – I guess it will be harder when you’ve used the product a few times because then the point is gone. Anyway, about the formula: I understand why they named this a balm, because it’s just as smooth and hydrating. The stick glides over your lips, it feels lovely and soft and the result looks vibrant and shiny!

Then again, this is also the reason why the product isn’t very long lasting. After a few hours (including a rather large lunch) I took the third picture, which isn’t very nice to look at… I must mention that in real life, it looks far less worse. Nonetheless, at this point you might want to reapply the product. I didn’t, though, I just rubbed my lips together to make it look even and the result was pretty decent.

The fourth picture shows you what your lips will look like after wearing the Lacquer Balm for a day. The shine is completely gone, the only thing that’s left is a wash of colour – a nice one!

Review: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm

This is the full face picture I took right after applying the product. The undertone of the product isn’t particularly warm or cold, so it’s easy to combine this lip with different eye looks and blushes.

Review: Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm

That’s it for my review about the Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm #135 Provocateur. You guessed it: I’m a fan. The colour is lovely, as well as the moisturising formula and the shiny finish. The only downside I can think of is the lasting power, as the colour and especially the shine fade away quite quickly. Then again, the hint of colour that will be left on your lips looks beautiful as well. If you love a vibrant, in-your-face shade of red and a creamy formula, I’d definitely recommend this product to you.

Once again, a Revlon lip product has won me over completely!

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

 

Leave a Reply

