Skip to content

FOTD: Summer Simplicity

July 7, 2014

Although meanwhile the weather has gone back to being rubbish, we had a few extremely hot summer days in the Netherlands last week! When it’s that warm outside, I tend to wear less make up – I guess most people do. Today I’m going to show you what make up products I wear on such a day, to give you a little bit of summer make up inspiration.

 

FOTD: Summer Simplicity

On most hot days I don’t even wear make up, only sunscreen. That particular day, though, I went shopping with my boyfriend so I wanted to look extra nice. I created a very simple, minimalistic look consisting of five make up products, plus sunscreen and lip balm.

The picture on the right shows you what the result looked like: fresh, natural… everything but flawless, but pretty anyway!

I started off with applying a facial SPF30 sunscreen on my skin, and then removing any shine on my T-zone with a mattifying compact powder foundation and a kabuki brush. Underneath my eyes I applied a bit of this new concealer I’m trying out, there’s a review of that one coming up!

 

Those are the only products I used on my face, let’s move on to the eyes…

 
FOTD: Summer Simplicity

… which are actually very simple as well. I just curled my lashes and applied one coat of a waterproof mascara. Then I took care of my eyebrows, I just quickly brushed them through with a tinted brow gel. That’s all!

FOTD: Summer Simplicity

On my lips I went for a hint of colour, I just used my finger to gently dab an otherwise very bright tinted lip balm stick on my lips. To add a bit of shine and hydration, I applied a clear lip balm on top.

FOTD: Summer Simplicity

Here’s a list of the products I used:

  • Biodermal Facial Sun Fluid SPF30
  • Bourjois Paris Touche Healthy Mix Brush Concealer #61 Beige Clair
  • Sephora Mattifying Compact Powder Foundation #26 Medium
  • Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel
  • Maybelline New York One By One Volum’ Express Waterproof Mascara – review of the non-waterproof version
  • Revlon Colorburst  Lacquer Balm #135 Provocateur – review
  • Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant – review

 

And there you have it: an easy going, natural looking make up look that’s perfect for withstanding the highest temperatures. I even went swimming with my make up on, and it didn’t budge.

I hope you’re having a nice day and that it’s sunny where you are – if that’s the case then don’t forget to apply sunscreen!

 

Love,

Suzanne

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

