Skip to content

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

July 10, 2014

Tomorrow I’ll be leaving for a seven day trip to Italy, I’m all packed and ready. The most important thing in my suitcase is of course… my make up bag! Last year I showed you what I make up products I took with me (click here for the blog post), and today I’m once again answering that lovely question: What’s in my make up travel bag?

 

I’m going to start off by showing you my brushes, safely packed in this Real Techniques brush case from the Core Collection. On the picture below it may not look like a case, because it doubles up as a stand, but when you fold it up it’s perfect for holding and protecting your brushes in your suitcase.

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

I’m taking six brushes with me, which is way less than I normally use. But I think I’ll be able to create a few different looks with them, although I would obviously pack all my brushes if I could (= if someone else carried my bags for me).

The brush on the left is my beloved Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, which is perfect for applying liquid foundation. The next brush is also by Real Techniques, it’s the Blush Brush and I use with both bronzer and blush. Then there are a few eye brushes I can’t live without, mainly from Zoeva (Shader, Smudger, Pencil, Crease) and also an eyeliner brush from the HEMA. There’s a clean mascara wand in there as well, which I use for brushing through my unruly eyebrows. The last brush is the Kabuki Brush by ELF, which I’m going to apply my setting powder with. Normally I use a ‘lighter’ brush for applying powder, but given the high temperatures in Italy I’m guessing that I need a bit more powder than usual.

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

Now on to my make up bag! It’s the same one I took with me last year, not because I think it’s pretty (actually I despise the look of it), but because it’s of exactly the right size, and the different compartments are very convenient.

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

I’m using the clear compartment on the front for elongated products like my pencils: a black felt tip liner by Maybelline, a Catrice highlighter pen, the black Maybelline Kohl Liner, a vibrant turquoise pencil by KIKO and my favourite dark brown pencil by NYX. It wasn’t hard to choose an eyeshadow primer, the NYX HD Eyeshadow Base is the best one I’ve got besides my nearly empty Urban Decay Primer Potion. And of course I can’t forget my brows: the Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel is perfect to quickly neaten them and fill them in.

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

Just like last year, I’ve chosen Sleek’s Oh So Special eyeshadow palette to take with me. I’ve thought about packing my Urban Decay Naked Palette or my fairly new MAC Pro Palette, but I just can’t risk losing or breaking those ones. The Sleek one will do just fine, it’s very versatile and the quality of the shadows is nice as well. Another eyeshadow is the Maybelline Color Tattoo, I guess you already know how much I love that one so it’s really not a big surprise that I’m taking it with me. Same goes for my mascara, which is the Max Factor Masterpiece Max Mascara.

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

I didn’t even have to think about which foundation I’m packing, of course it’s the fabulous Healthy Mix Foundation by Bourjois Paris. Picking a concealer and a setting powder wasn’t that hard, too, because the The Eraser Eye Concealer and the Stay Matte Pressed Powder are still my favourites. Boring, isn’t it?

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

I’m not packing many blushes, I think I won’t be needing more than these two: the Sleek Blush in Rose Gold (because it makes your tan look smashing) and the NYX Powder Blush in Dusty Rose (because it goes with everything). For my bronzer, I’ve chosen the Rimmel London Natural Bronzer in the colour #022 Sun Bronze. This is a new discovery for me, but I already like it so much that I can’t leave it behind!

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

My favourite part: the lip products! I’m packing the same amount of lip products as last year (five), but four of them are different. The one that I also took with me last year is a lipstain/lipgloss by L’Oréal in the shade #200 Princess – such a pretty summery colour! Other summery lip products I’m packing are the Chubby Stick Intense Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm #04 Heftiest Hibiscus, the Colorburst Lip Butter #015 Tutti Frutti and the Rimmel London Moisture Renew Lipstick #160 Rose Passion, which I all absolutely love formula wise. The last lip product is a lip cream by Bourjois that lasts for ages, perfect for a long summer’s day!

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

We’ve arrived at the last category, which features the tools that are in my make up bag. I’m taking pencils with me so I obviously need a sharpener – this is just a cheap one by Essence. Another very important product (VIP, haha): my HEMA Eyelash Curlers. An even more important product: tweezers! I recently got these new tweezers by Tweezerman – exactly the same as my other pair of tweezers but in a prettier colour :) Then there are a few nail tools: a file, scissors and a cuticle pusher thingy (I don’t know what that one’s called).

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

I’ve listed every single product below for you.

Brushes:

  • Real Techniques Expert Face Brush – review
  • Real Techniques Blush Brush
  • Zoeva Eye Definition Brush Set: Shader, Smudger, Pencil, Crease – review
  • HEMA Eyeliner Brush
  • ELF Kabuki Brush
  • A clean mascara wand (I think the mascara was by Essence)

Face:

  • Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52 – review
  • Maybelline New York The Eraser Eye Concealer #Light – review
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair
  • Rimmel London Natural Bronzer Waterproof Bronzing Powder #022 Sun Bronze
  • Sleek Blush #926 Rose Gold
  • NYX Powder Blush #PB02 Dusty Rose – review

Eyes + brows:

  • Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel
  • NYX High Definition Eye Shadow Base – review
  • Catrice Made To Stay Highlighter Pen #020 Eye Want!
  • A mysterious black felt tip liner by Maybelline New York
  • Maybelline New York Master Drama Khol Liner #Ultra Black – review
  • KIKO Vibrant Eye Pencil #606
  • NYX Eye/Eyebrow Pencil #931 Black Brown
  • Maybelline New York 24HR Color Tattoo Gel-Cream Eyeshadow #35 On and on Bronze – review
  • Sleek iDivine Mineral Based Eyeshadow Palette #658 Oh So Special
  • Max Factor Masterpiece Max High Volume & Definition Mascara #Black

Lips:

  • Clinique Chubby Stick Intense Moisturizing Lip Colour Balm #04 Heftiest Hibiscus – review
  • Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter #015 Tutti Frutti – review
  • L’Oréal Paris Shine Caresse #200 Princess – review
  • Rimmel London Moisture Renew Lipstick #160 Rose Passion – review
  • Bourjois Paris Rouge Edition Velvet #02 Frambourjoise – review

Tools:

  • Essence Sharpener
  • Nail file, scissors and a cuticle pusher thingy (brands unknown)
  • Tweezerman Mini Slant Tweezers – review (another colour but same product)
  • HEMA Eyelash Curlers

What’s in my make up travel bag? (Updated)

Auch, that’s a LOT.

Then again, think of all those wonderful products I’m leaving behind: the Naked Palette, my other Color Tattoo’s, the Sephora powder, my new MAC eyeshadows, so many lovely lipsticks… I’m already homesick!

 

Love,

Suzanne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2014 10:52 am

    Wat een leuk artikel! super handig:) Heel veel plezier op vakantie <3

Trackbacks

  1. A Rather Large Holiday Haul | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

