Skip to content

Review: Benefit They’re Real Mascara

July 21, 2014

Benefit’s They’re Real – I think we’re all familiar with that one. After reading the positive reviews out there, I finally bought this famous, best-selling mascara myself. Now, about one week later I’ve tried it and decided whether it’s worth the hype or not. If you curious to know the answer to that question, click Read more! (Plus, I’ve got some seriously bad-ass product photos for you…)

 

First off: a shout out to my friend, who helped me shoot the product pictures when we were in Italy last week. Thank you, Loïs!

Review: Benefit They're Real Mascara

This is what the product looks like. I bought the mini version of the They’re Real Mascara, which costed me €10,90. A lot of money for such a small tube, but I just couldn’t resist!

Review: Benefit They're Real Mascara

Although the mini tube makes the mascara wand look bigger than its actual size, the brush is still larger than your average mascara wand. It’s a bendable, rubber brush with tiny spikes all over it. The spikes on the top make it very easy to reach outer and inner lashes, although you have to be careful because of the blob of excess mascara that’s on the top.

Of course I tested the mascara and photographed the results – I’ve combined the pictures all in one huge collage:

Benefit

Yep, those are a lot of eyes. Let me explain to you what I did there.

Review: Benefit They're Real Mascara

The first three pictures (1) show you my ‘naked’ eye. Before taking the next series of pictures (2), I applied one coat of the They’re Real Mascara on my top and bottom lashes. My first reaction was something along the lines of Oh My GOD, the effect just blew me away! My lashes are longer, fuller, thicker and blacker – without clumps. The application of the mascara was very quick but not that easy, the big brush may cause you to get mascara on your eyelid and make one big mess of it. However, if you’re careful the mascara is fantastic to work with!

Next (3), I tried applying a second layer after the first one had dried completely. I say tried because this didn’t go well at all: my lashes started to stick together immediately at my first swipe – and then I just gave up. When applying the first coat, the wand does a great job separating the lashes but the second layer… a whole different story. At this point I also took a full face picture (wearing the Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm #135 Provocateur, in case you want to know), which you can see above. The result looks beautiful and natural, I love it!
Back to the collage: I took the fourth series of pictures (4) nearly eight hours after applying the mascara, to give you an idea of the longevity. To be honest, I don’t have any complaints whatsoever. There’s no smudging, no crumbling, no fading – just great! This made me worry slightly about taking off the mascara, but luckily that turned out to be pretty easy.

Review: Benefit They're Real Mascara

I planned on writing a critical, witty review of the Benefit They’re Real Mascara, but I have to admit that I, too, have fallen for this wonderful product. It’s one of the best mascaras I’ve ever tried; it lengthens, separates, adds volume, is quick to apply and stays put through the entire day. As long as you (or maybe it’s just me) don’t apply a second coat, it’s perfect!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

