Skip to content

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

August 2, 2014

Perhaps you remember an article I posted a a month or so ago, called A Pre-Summer Haul.When I wrote that post, I honestly thought I had bought a lot of products. But now – drumroll please – I’ve bought even MORE. Because how can you not go shopping when you’re on a holiday?!

 

 

During the past month I went on two trips; first to Italy (click here for my travel make up bag) and then a Euro trip to Budapest and Prague. Whenever I’m abroad I try visiting as many drug stores as I can, just to get a taste of what we’re missing out on here in the Netherlands. Guess what… A lot!

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

A product that I’ve always wanted to try but never got the chance to as it’s not available where I live, is the Lady Speed Stick. Obviously this sounds very dull – how can you lust after a deodorant? Nevertheless, I was a very happy girl when I saw these in the Rossman (drug store in Prague) because I’ve heard great things about this deodorant. I bought three of their deodorant sticks, and so far I’m pretty impressed by the effects!

At the moment my favourite day cream is from the L’Oréal Paris Skin Perfection range, I’ve explained to you why in the article about my March Favourites. My current jar of this cream is almost empty, so I thought it was about time to buy a back up.

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

When changing trains in Germany, I came across this lovely lip balm in a drug store at the railway station. It’s called the Bee Natural Mango 100% Natural Lip Balm, and there are three reasons why I bought it: 1) the beautiful natural ingredient list, 2) the cute bee on the packaging and 3) the delicious smell of mango. Love it!

I was pretty excited when I spotted the Rimmel London Stay Blushed! Liquid Cheek Tints in a Czech drug store, because I’ve never seen them in the Netherlands before. Blush in a tube, how cool does that sound? I bought the shade #001 Pop Of Pink and I can’t wait to try it…

There’s no such thing as owning to many lip sticks, right? Those where my thoughts exactly when I discovered this beautiful pink Shine Edition Lipstick #22 by Bourjois Paris. So I bought it – and I have no regrets because I just tried it this afternoon (review coming up) and it’s amazing!

It’s no secret that I love the Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel for a quick brow fix, click here to read about it in a favourites blog post. I ran out of my previous tube so I immediately dropped everything and went to the store to buy another one. What can I say? My eyebrows are just very important to me!

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

But wait… There is more make up! On the left you can see the The Eraser Eye Concealer by Maybelline New York (review), which is my holy grail concealer. Recently I found out that they are discontinuing this lovely product in the Netherlands (WHY?!) so I bought an extra back up when I was at a Maybelline counter in Germany. At that same counter I bought the Master Precise Liquid Eyeliner, a black felt tip eyeliner pen, which I’ve been loving ever since I bought it (review coming up). I also bought the Great Lash Waterproof Mascara, because I’ve heard great things about the non-waterproof version. However, I find this one a bit disappointing – I’ll explain it to you in a review very soon.

A product that’s the absolute opposite of disappointing is the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. If you’ve read my review, you already know that this is my all time favourite eye shadow primer – so I had to pick up a new one at the Sephora in Milan.

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

In the Douglas in Prague I spotted these Mild Nail Polish Remover Wipes, and I thought they’d be very handy to take with me on trips. Speaking about travel sized products… I’ve always loved the Batiste Dry Shampoo’s (click here for a review), and I kind of missed them when I was on holiday. That’s why I got this mini version of the Original Clean & Clear Dry Shampoo, which I’m going to take with me from now on.

I’m very excited about this next product: the Tweezerman Classic Lash Curler. Ever since I started applying make up, I’ve always been using the HEMA Eyelash Curlers, but now I feel like it’s time to try out a new one! I’ll keep you updated on how I like them, maybe they will appear in my next favourites blog post…

When I went on my Euro trip, I took a sample with me of the Biosilk Silk Therapy, which is a lovely hair serum. I tried it out during the first days of my holiday and I liked it so much that my heart jumped a bit when I saw a little bottle of it on sale in a drug store in Prague. I bought it without hesitating and I’m glad that I did because it makes my hair so soft and healthy!

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

The last couple of items aren’t products I bought myself, but presents I got for my birthday at the end of June. From my boyfriend’s parents I got two Rituals Foaming Shower Gels; a full size (Yogi Flow Indian Rose & Sweet Almond) and a smaller version (Hammam Delight Fresh Eucalyptus & Rosemary). I’ve already tried the first one and I like its flowery scent and soft formula very much!

One of the gifts my own parents gave me is the Essence Colour & Go Nail Polish #171 Galactic Glam. They didn’t know I already owned this exact polish, but I don’t mind because now I have a back up :)

The final beauty item I got for my birthday is the Real Techniques Powder Brush, which I’ve only used once and I’m already in love with it. The soft, full bristles and the perfect size and shape of it… Real Techniques once again has won me over!

A Rather Large Holiday Haul

That’s it for the products I recently got – now the question is how I’m going to create space for all these new items… First world problems!

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

