Skip to content

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist #717 Medium

August 13, 2014

I don’t even have to tell you how important my eye brows are to me – I’ve spoken about them so much on my blog that you must think I’m crazy… Anyway, that brow obsession is the reason that I’m continuously on the lookout for the next great brow product. And guess what: I think I found it!

 

 

Today I’m reviewing the Sleek Eyebrow Stylist in the shade #717 Medium, which costed me €7.49. It’s a twist-up brow pencil with a ‘unique angular shape that allows you to sculpt with broad strokes using the flat edge of the pencil, as well as fill in with fine lines using the pointed tip‘.

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

The product comes in a small white cardboard box, nothing special really!

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

There are three shades in total: Light, Medium and Dark. Although my hair and my brows are on the dark side I don’t like using a very dark eyebrow pencil, as the effect of such a colour is often too harsh. That’s why I chose the shade in the middle: #717 Medium.

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

The pencil is double-ended; there’s a comb on the backside. Very handy for brushing through your brows before, during or after applying the colour.

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

Here’s a close up of the pencil, now you can see what they mean by ‘unique angular shape’: a sort of triangle with a thick (lower) and a thin (upper) side. You’re supposed to use the pointy side for detailing work and creating the look of hairs, and the flat side for filling in the brows. Let’s try this out…

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

I must say: it works perfectly! I first created a stripe using the pointy end of the pencil (left swatch), and then a thicker stripe with the flat end (right swatch). On this picture the pencil looks rather light, it’s a bit darker in real life – which makes it only suitable for brunettes like myself.

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

The pictures above show you the effect of the comb that comes with the pencil. I took a picture of my unruly brows (1) and then combed them through (2). I didn’t use any other brow products, and already my eyebrows look way better (3).

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

Now it’s time to fill in the brows, which you can see me doing on the first picture. The second photo shows you the result: full and defined eyebrows. They don’t look necessarily darker, just… nicer! To make them look even better I took the comb and brushed them through once more. This will help spreading out the colour, resulting in softer and more natural looking brows (third picture).

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

I took a full-face photo of the final result, which you can see on the left.

After using the Eyebrow Stylist, my eyebrows are quite prominent – even more so compared to the subtle eye make up I’m wearing. However, I love a strong eyebrow so this is perfect for me! If you don’t like this look, though, I wouldn’t recommend this pencil as it’s hard to apply it subtly.

At the end of the day I took another photograph (sorry for the horrible lightning), this is picture 4 above. My eyebrows are still going strong! The colour doesn’t fade throughout the day, although my brows looked more and more messy compared to right after combing them through. So I would use a brow gel to set the hairs in place – this is, if you have impertinent eyebrows like my own.

Review: Sleek Eyebrow Stylist (Medium)

I think it’s obvious that I’m a huge fan of the Sleek Eyebrow Stylist. However, if you don’t like a strong brow look, I think you should try another type of product, maybe powder. Also, if you want to only use one quick product and be done with it I’d go for a tinted brow gel instead of this one. If those things are not the case, then what are you waiting for?

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

