Skip to content

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

August 27, 2014

Every single time I come across a product that even remotely resembles the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters, I can’t help myself. Although deep down I know that the chances of finding an equally great dupe are very small, I still feel like I have to give it a shot. This exact thing happened to me a few weeks ago when I was abroad…

 

Let me present to you this Bourjois Paris Shine Edition Lipstick!

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

The colour is called #22, it’s a not-too-warm, not-too-cool toned shade of pink. I liked the packaging from the moment I saw it in the store: classy, happy and shiny.

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

Ultra shine, radiant colour and the comfort of a balm‘ – Bourjois about their Shine Edition Lipstick. A definition that strongly reminds me of the Revlon Lip Butters, my favourite lipsticks ever (click here and here for reviews). Therefore, my expectations are high – something along the lines of smooth, buttery, hydrating, sheer and luscious.

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

The swatches definitely agree with me; the lipstick glides over my skin and leaves behind a juicy colour with a nice shine.  That shine isn’t very noticeable in the shadow (left picture), but in the sunlight (right picture) it looks stunning! I also like the shade; a girly, quite ‘young’ pink that, I imagine, would look very flattering on most people. Including me…? Let’s see!

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

These are my bare lips.

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

Here I’ve applied a good coat of the Shine Edition Lipstick – as you can see there’s nothing wrong with the pigmentation!

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22On the left you can see a full face picture of me wearing the lipstick, it doesn’t look bad at all but I prefer a more subtle shade of pink. Luckily, later on I discovered that this lipstick is actually very buildable, and that – on me, at least – it looks better to gently dab it on instead of applying a thicker layer of it. For me the full effect of this colour is just too Barbie-like, although I know that some people love that look. I’ll make sure to use this lipstick the way I like it (applying the lipstick subtly with my finger) in the near future and then I’ll show you the results in a FOTD-blog post.

The next question is of course: how well does this lipstick stay on my lips? When looking at the lasting power, shiny and buttery formulas aren’t necessarily a good thing because they usually fade quicker than matte and dry ones.

Below you can see a picture of my lips about three hours after applying the Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22. Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

The lipstick has lost it shine and most of its pigmentation, but there’s still a pink stain left on my lips – which actually looks very pretty! The lipstick didn’t bleed or transfer much, it just… disappeared gradually.

Review: Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22

To come to a conclusion, I’d say that the best two words to describe the Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22 are pretty & easy. Its’s one of these lipsticks where you don’t have to think about it, you just apply it and go. It’s also a shade that can be anything you want: casual, flirty, chique, effortless, subtle, glamorous, eye-catching… Of course this lipstick isn’t very special, innovative or high-quality but personally I think it’s a nice addition to my stash. Plus, ever since I got it I’ve worn it loads – that ought to count for something, right?

 

Love,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

