Skip to content

August Favourites

September 1, 2014

Because I’ve been on a holiday, I skipped the July Favourites blog post. That means it’s been two months since my last montly favourites (click!) – but now I’m back, writing to you about my most-loved products from the month of August!

 

 

During the past month I’ve tried out loads of new products – some disappointing ones and some great ones. Today I’ll show you the latter!

August Favourites

Let’s start with what has been my absolute favourite eyelash combination for the past few weeks: the Tweezerman Classic Eyelash Curler and the Benefit They’re Real Mascara. Both products are supposed to make your lashes look outstandingly beautiful, and both products do a great job at that very thing. The Tweezerman lash curler is the fastest one I’ve ever worked with, it takes less than a second and then I’m left with beautifully curled eyelashes. Another thing I like is that they included three extra rubber thingies, so this product will certainly last me a very long time!

And of course, the #1 best-selling mascara: Benefit’s They’re Real. This is a mini version, because I wanted to try it out before I bought the full size product. I’ve tried it out, and guess what: I love it to pieces. It lengthens, separates, volumises, stays put… Click here for an in-depth review about this wonderful mascara.

August Favourites

I have two lip products to show you – both by Bourjois, which is without doubt my favourite lip brand at the moment. The one on the left is the Rouge Edition Velvet, a smooth, highly pigmented lip cream that dries to a matte finish and lasts for the entire day. This particular one, called #01 Personne Ne Rouge!, is a classic warm toned shade of red. I’ve reviewed another shade (#02 Frambourjoise) from the same range before, click here to read all about it.

The second lip product is a fuchsia lipstick with a Revlon Lip Butter-like formula; hydrating, soft and glossy. It looks very beautiful dabbed onto the lips for a subtle hint of pink, I’ll make sure to show you that look in one of my upcoming FOTD blog posts. Here is a review of the Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22, so go ahead and take a look if you’re interested.

August Favourites

My next three favourites are all products I got recently, I already spoke about two of them in my Holiday Haul. I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect felt tip eyeliner pen for a few months, and I think I’ve found it: the Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Eyeliner in the shade Black. What I like about it is the fine tip and of course the intense black colour; it’s so pigmented that it looks like you’ve applied a gel liner!

The second product on this picture is the Sleek Eyebrow Stylist #717 Medium, which is a brilliant eyebrow pencil with a brow comb on the back. When you want your brows to look full and stong, this should be your next purchase! You can go to my review of this product to find out more about it.

When it comes to make up brushes, Real Techniques is my all time favourite brand. I own almost every single one of their face brushes, but there was still one brush that I lusted after… the Powder Brush. You can imagine my excitement when I got it for my birthday, and my even bigger excitement when I used it for the first time. Like all Real Techniques brushes, this brush is extremely soft, well-shaped and just a dream to work with!

August Favourites

It’s no secret that I love Aussie, an Australian hair cair brand with products that smell like bubblegum. They recently came out with a series of Mircale Recharge Lightweight Conditioning Sprays, and I got myself the moisturising one. Just like it says on the packaging, this spray gives my hair a quick boost of moisture without weighing it down. And that smell, oh, that smell!

After hearing so many great things about the Sally Hansen Airbrush Legs Leg Makeup I decided to try it myself, to see what the hype was all about. And now here I am, joining the hype because this product is amazing! Whenever I’m wearing a dress to a party and I want my legs to look great, I spray this on. This magical little product makes my legs look flawless and subtly tanned, what else can you wish for?

August Favourites

Time for some swatches! From left to right: Bourjois Paris Rouge Edition Velvet #01 Personne Ne Rouge!, Bourjois Paris Shine Edition Lipstick #22, Maybelline New York Master Precise Liquid Eyeliner #Black, Sleek Eyebrow Stylist #717 Medium, Sally Hansen Airbrush Legs Leg Makeup.

August Favourites

And finally, one last group shot on my dangerously narrow balcony balustrade. My precious Sleek Brow Stylist almost fell down during the photoshoot…

 

Love,

Suzanne

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2014 11:11 pm

    Mooie foto’s! Ik ga die eyeliner dan maar eens aanschaffen haha:)

Trackbacks

  1. The best of my product photos #2 | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

