Skip to content

FOTD: Subtle Fuchsia

September 9, 2014

In my review of the Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22 Famous Fuchsia, I promised you that I would feature this lovely lipstick in a FOTD blog post. I like to apply the lipstick in a soft, dabbing motion rather than just swiping it on, because I like the subtle effect better. Paired with a golden/green shimmery eye look, the resulting FOTD is a pretty look that’s easy to build up and therefore suitable for many different occasions.

Does this sound good to you? Then go on and click Read more!

 

 

 

 

First off, let me talk you through the eye look.

FOTD: Subtle Fuchsia

Creating this eye look was actually way easier than you might think – besides mascara I only used three eyeshadows and an eye pencil. I started by dividing my eye lid in two parts, applying a champagne eyeshadow to the inner half and a golden/green eyeshadow to the outer half. After I blended these two colours together, I darkened my crease with a matte dark brown eyeshadow. I also lined my upper and lower lash line with a brown kohl pencil for extra definition. Blend blend blend… Done!

FOTD: Subtle Fuchsia

Other than that I just curled my lashes (I’m in love with my new Tweezerman lash curler!) and applied one coat of mascara. For my brows I used the ever so quick and easy tinted brow gel by Catrice. Lastly I lined my waterline with a nude pencil to make my eyes look more awake, but the effect isn’t that noticeable on the photographs. If you want to see the full list of every product used, scroll down!

FOTD: Subtle Fuchsia

On this picture I’m wearing my favourite lip product at the moment, the warm pink lipstick by Bourjois that I mentioned before. If you apply this lipstick like you normally would (straight from the tube), you end up with a vibrant fuchsia lip – a great look for some but unfortunately not for me. That’s why I prefer to gently dab the lipstick on with my finger, for a more subtle ‘touch of pink’ result. Sometimes I then apply a clear lip balm on top (the Elizabeth Arden one), but this time I didn’t, as my lips weren’t particularly dry that day.

FOTD: Subtle FuchsiaOn my face I used the same boring old products that I always use: liquid foundation (Bourjois), concealer (Bourjois) and setting powder (Rimmel). For blusher I chose a coral shade by Rimmel, mainly because it’s so subtle that it didn’t clash with the pink lipstick. I forgot to bronze up my face – I look kind of pale but that can be due to the lightning as well.

And there you have it: my Subtle Fuchsia Face Of The Day! The different parts of this look are all very easy to build up, which makes it perfect for a day-to-night transformation. If you wear this make up during the day and you’re going to a party in the evening, just darken up the eyes with a black kohl pencil on the waterline – that black/green/gold combination is to die for! You can also choose to apply one or two more layers of lipstick for a vibrant fuchsia lip, or to remove the remaining bits of pink lipstick and go for a classic red, which will go perfectly with the eye look as well. So many possibilities!FOTD: Subtle Fuchsia

The product list:

  • Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation #52 Vanilla – review
  • Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder #007 Mohair
  • Bourjois Paris Touche Healthy Mix Brush Concealer #61 Beige Clair – review
  • Rimmel London Lasting Finish Soft Colour Blush #190 Coral
  • Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel #010
  • Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base
  • L’Oréal Paris Infaillible Eyeshadow #002 Hourglass Beige
  • Catrice Liquid Metal Eyeshadow #070 Gold Leaf Me
  • Flormar Matte Mono Eye Shadow #M07
  • Catrice Made To Stay Inside Eye Highlighter Pen #010 In The Mood For Nude – review
  • Maybelline New York Master Drama Khol Liner #Ultra Black – review
  • Tweezerman Classic Lash Curler
  • Maxfactor Masterpiece Max Mascara #Black
  • Bourjois Shine Edition Lipstick #22 Famous Fuchsia – review

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed this FOTD!

 

Love,

Suzanne

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2014 6:57 pm

    Looks lovely!:)

  2. September 10, 2014 8:57 am

    Hele mooie, frisse look!

  3. Jesse permalink
    January 25, 2015 10:39 pm

    You’re so beautiful i can just stare at your pictures all day! :O)

Leave a Reply

