Skip to content

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

September 15, 2014

Okay – it’s time for me to admit something. I have never, ever, not once in my life, tried Maybelline’s Baby Lips. Very shocking, considering that it’s an extremely popular product amongst beauty bloggers, and considering that I love tinted lip balms. That’s why I decided to buy not one but two tinted lip balms: the original (Baby Lips by Maybelline) and a dupe (Keep Calm by Rimmel)…

 

To give you the exact product details: I got the Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Balm #Cherry Me, and the Rimmel London Keep Calm and Rock Lip Balm #030 Berry Blush. In the Netherlands, they both cost €3,49. Over the past few days I’ve been testing and comparing these two tinted lip balms, resulting in a Battle of the Brands review which consists of five rounds. The game is on!

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

1. Packaging

Judging on the looks of these two products, I’d give this round to Maybelline. I love the bold writing and the orange-pink colour combination! However, when looking at the actual stick I prefer Rimmel because it’s pointed, which makes it way easier to apply the product precisely. Plus, the Baby Lips comes with a lot of extra packaging, which is just a waste of cardboard and plastic, if you ask me. So that’s 1-0 for Rimmel!

Rimmel: 1

Maybelline: 0

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

2. Scent

When a product is located right under your nose, the smell is obviously very important. Both lip balms have a sweet scent; the Baby Lips one also smells fruity like cherries and the Keep Calm Lip Balm just smells sweet. I’m sure not everyone will agree with me on this one, but I prefer the Baby Lips scent!

Rimmel: 1

Maybelline: 1

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

3. Colour

Above you can see the swatches, both in the sunlight (left picture) and in the shadow (right picture). The left swatch is Maybelline, the right one is Rimmel. Although these lip balms have more or less the same pink colour to them, the Rimmel lip balm looks more intense and less shiny than the one by Maybelline. But before choosing a winner, of course we have to look at some lip swatches!

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

My bare lips.

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

Rimmel London Keep Calm and Rock Lip Balm #030 Berry Blush – a fairly cool toned pink that’s somewhere in the middle of being matte and shiny. As you might be able to see, this lip balm enhances my dry patches a little bit – that’s due to the dry formula, I guess.

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Balm #Cherry Me – a glossy, more warm toned pink. This one was a bit hard to apply precisely because of the ‘wet’ formula and the shape of the stick.

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

Some full face pictures, from left to right: bare lips – Rimmel Keep Calm – Maybelline Baby Lips.

I don’t know about you, but I prefer a more warm-toned lip shade so that I can combine it with warm golden/brown/bronze eye looks. Furthermore, I don’t like that the Rimmel lip balm clings to the dry patches on my lips – a lip balm really shouldn’t do that!

Rimmel: 1

Maybelline: 2

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

4. Lasting Power

I’m sorry to say that I don’t have pictures to show you the lasting power of these lip balms, but I can say that Rimmel clearly beats Maybelline on this one. It’s exactly what I expected: Maybelline’s wet and glossy formula fades rather quickly – I’d give it two hours tops – while Rimmel’s dry formula stays on a good four hours. (Without much eating and drinking, that is.)

Rimmel: 2

Maybelline: 2

 

5. Hydration

This one’s easy as well: the glossy, hydrating formula of the Baby Lips Lip Balm feels way nicer on my lips than the somewhat drier Rimmel Keep Calm Lip Balm. So that’s a point to Maybelline!

Rimmel: 2

Maybelline: 3

Battle of the Brands: Maybelline Baby Lips vs Rimmel Keep Calm

And the winner is…… Maybelline’s Baby Lips! However, I’m sure that I will keep using Rimmel’s Keep Calm as well, and I recommend both of these lip balms to you. I hope you liked this type of Battle of the Brands article, maybe I’ll do it again sometime :)

 

Love,

Suzanne

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2014 5:51 pm

    I’ve never used Baby Lips either, and it’s also greatly celebrated here in Asia. :)) Must pick one up soon.

  2. alookinsidethelife permalink
    October 5, 2014 2:07 pm

    I really love Maybelline Baby Lips, I take it anywhere I go, haha!

  3. December 4, 2014 1:09 am

    I have never had Maybelline Baby lips just because not a fan of the brand. YOu have presented great points of comparison. :)
    Now, I’m contemplating whether to get one. haha. Thanks :)

  4. Meow permalink
    February 6, 2015 11:35 am

    Hey I like your nice photos! Love that crown ;)

  5. May 22, 2015 4:54 am

    Awesome comparison. You’ve got some lovely lips, by the way! :)

  6. June 2, 2015 8:55 pm

    Baby Lips dries my lips out like crazy. Feels nice at first, but when it wears away they are noticeably drier than before! I’m also very suspicious as to why the label says don’t apply more than x amt of times per day..

    • June 3, 2015 7:48 am

      I didn’t notice such an effect, but it’s good that you mention it! Maybe the Rimmel one will work out for you better?

  7. Tammy Hillhouse permalink
    August 19, 2015 6:51 am

    I feel that baby lips by maybelline is a better feel and look on my lips than rimmel lip balm. I like tints on both with exception to the keep calm (clear) one by rimmel. Did not care for the smell at all on that one. I would say I do like both but I do prefer baby lips.I like all the tints and smells, I just wish it would last longer on my lips than it does. Thank you for reading my review,
    Tammy

Trackbacks

  1. September Favourites | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

