Skip to content

September Favourites

October 2, 2014

What a month it has been… I moved out of my parent’s house and into my new dorm room in Groningen, I started studying Medicine, I made a lot of new friends and I joined a committee. But in de midst of all the crazy things that are happening, I have found some time to sit down and write to you about my favourite products of September.

 

So here they are!

September Favourites

I’ve never featured Maybelline’s One By One Mascara in a favourites blog post before, but it’s about time I did! For the past year this has been my favourite day time mascara, and I just bought a new tube because I ran out of the first one. It’s not the best mascara I’ve ever tried (ahem Benefit They’re Real ahem), but it’s the perfect product if you want to subtly enhance your lashes by making them longer, darker and a bit thicker. Also, this mascara stays on the entire day without running or flaking, which is of course great. If you want to know more, here‘s a review.

The next little product I want to talk about is also by Maybelline: the Baby Lips Lipbalm in the shade Cherry Me. Recently I did a blog post on the battle of the tinted lip balms (click!), and this one won! It was a fair result given the fact that after that blog post I’ve been using the Baby Lips a lot more often – I just adore its creaminess and the subtle hint of colour it gives to my lips.

A while ago I picked up this limited edition lip oil from the Wild Argan Oil collection by the Body Shop, called the Solid Oil Lips. I’ve been using it for just a couple of weeks now, and already it’s up there with the Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Lip Protectant! Just the tiniest bit of this lip oil is enough to make my lips soft and smooth; not just for the next hour but also for the next day. And the scent of it is yummy!

September Favourites

A nail polish that I’ve been wearing loads this month is the Bourjois Paris 10 Days No Chips Nail Polish in the shade #17 Bourgainviller . This berry shade is the perfect transitional colour to go from summer to fall, as it’s got the brightness of a summer polish and the deepness of a fall shade. If you want to see what it looks like on the nails, click here to visit my review!

I’ve always had problems with my nails; they are weak, break very easily and therefore I can’t really grow them. Such a pity, because I love the look of long, strong nails… So you may be able to understand that I’m always trying out new strengthening nail polishes. My favourite strengthening polishes are by Essie and also Sally Hansen, like the one I’m using at the moment: the Miracle Cure Strenthener. So far, it’s doing a great job at making my nails harder and stronger. As I’m typing this article I’m looking at my long (compared to their regular length, that is) and strong nails – and I think I have to thank this polish for that!

September Favourites

You’re looking at my absolute favourite cleansing product at the moment: the Revlon 24-Hours Gentle Cleansing Milk. I’ve used a Dutch drug store home brand’s face wash for the last few years (click here for a video about my skin care routine), but a month or so ago I came across the Revlon one. It was on sale so I decided to try something new – and I’m so glad that I did because this cleansing milk is the best one I’ve ever tried. It removes all of my facial make up and thoroughly cleans my skin, without drying it out even the slightest bit. Plus, the bottle is huge so it will last me forever!

Speaking of huge bottles – the next one is the opposite of that… This is a hair serum called Biosilk Silk Therapy, which I bought when I was in Prague (click here to take a look at my massive holiday haul). Everything they say about this lovely product is true: a few drops of this serum will make your hair soft, shiny and healthy looking!

About a week ago I wrote a review about this little shading brush by Real Techniques. After having used this brush for two weeks, I already can’t do my make up without it. It’s super versatile – you can use it for contouring, highlighting, shading, blending, and even applying concealer. And it’s so soft on the skin!

September Favourites

That’s it for my September Favourites, such lovely products! I can’t wait to see what the month of October brings me…

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

