Skip to content

Review: L’Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

October 7, 2014

BB creams and me – that’s not exactly a match made in heaven. I have tried a few and I was pretty much disappointed by all of them, even the one by Rimmel that everybody seems to love. Today I’m giving it another shot: here’s a review of the Luminizer Code BB Cream by L’Oréal Paris.

 

 

In the Netherlands, this BB cream costs between ten and fifteen Euros, and it comes in a fancy box like this:

Review: L'Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

The text on the box is very promising, it says that the BB cream will make imperfections disappear and add a beautiful glow to the skin. It also contains SPF15, which is of course a good thing!

Review: L'Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

This is what the tube looks like, the packaging is nice and practical. I got the shade ‘Light’, I believe there are only a few shades available and they are all in the medium skin colour range.

Review: L'Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

The substance that came out of the tube kind of scared me – it’s such a thick formula! It reminds me of the BB cream by Rimmel London, that one also had a very dry formula and that didn’t turn out so well… The texture of the cream is also visible on the pictures of my swatches below:

Review: L'Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

Luckily, blending out the product isn’t as tough as you would expect with such a dry and heavy formula. I’d say that the BB cream is actually pretty blendable!

Review: L'Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

However, when I used the BB cream on my face, I was pretty disappointed by the results. On the left you can see my face without any make up on; the right picture was taken after applying one layer of the product. Can you spot the differences? I know I can’t… The redness in my face is a bit less visible, but it’s still very much present. Also, the BB cream didn’t make my face look more matte – if anything, it’s more shiny than before. I do like how moisturising and blendable the BB cream is, though, and it didn’t cling to dry patches at all. But other than that…

Review: L'Oréal Luminizer Code BB Cream

… I think it’s pretty clear that the L’Oréal Paris Luminizer Code BB Cream isn’t my new favourite product to say the least. Sure, if you like a very low-coverage SPF 15 BB cream, I guess you could give this one a go, but I want a BB cream to do a bit more than that – especially given the price.

 

Love,

Suzanne

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

