Skip to content

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara

October 16, 2014

Given my eyebrow obsession, I guess it comes as no surprise that I have bought yet another new brow product. For the past few years I’ve been using a tinted brow gel by Catrice – which I love – but I wanted to see if that one really is the best brow gel out there. Maybe the Maybelline New York Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara is even better? Let’s find out!

 

In the Netherlands the Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara costs nine Euros. That’s more than two times as much as the Catrice one – although I’ve experienced that Maybelline products are a lot cheaper in other countries, for instance in Germany or London. In my local drug store there are three shades available (plus a transparent one), I bought the darkest shade called Dark Brown.

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara

You can’t really tell it from this picture, but the packaging of this product is quite cheap looking. I don’t know what it is, maybe the sticker, or the shape of the tube, but the Catrice brow gel packaging looks way better to me. There’s nothing really wrong with this packaging, though, it’s nice and practical!

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara

The Sculpting Brow Mascara has a bit of a strange wand; it starts off as a regular brush but then it ends in a sphere… Before I first used the product, I wasn’t sure whether this lollipop shape would make the application easier or harder – I was definitely curious! One thing that does make the application harder, is that there is a blob of brow gel on the end of the wand. It’s been like this every time I used the product, so I always have to wipe off the wand right after I take it out of the tube.

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara

Now, this is the point where I show you the process of applying the product! On the first picture I’m not wearing any brow products, on the second one I’m applying the Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara. It’s clear that the sphere on the wand is way too big, even for me and I have quite thick brows. Therefore, it doesn’t allow you precise application – which you can tell from the brown stuff above my brow on the third picture. Besides that I do like the formula of this gel a lot; it’s pigmented (but still quite natural looking) and it doesn’t leave clumps or anything in your brows.

The fourth picture was taken at the end of the day, to show you the longevity of this product. Although my brows have lost a bit of their shape, I was actually very impressed! Contrary to Catrice’s brow gel, this one sets in such a way that it makes your brows stay in place, which is of course a good thing – especially when your brows are anything like mine…

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara

Here’s a picture to show you “the brown stuff above my brow” that I’ve just mentioned. I must add that after a few days I’ve gotten used to the large brush, so now the result is way less messy.

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow MascaraOn the left there is a full face picture of me wearing the eyebrow gel.My brows look natural yet groomed and I like it! If you like a more filled-in brow than this isn’t a product for you (maybe this is?), but for me this is the perfect quick every day brow fix. The other products I used are:

Sephora Mattifying Powder Foundation

Bourjois Paris Touche Healthy Mix Brush Concealer #61 Beige Clair (review)

Rimmel London Stay Blushed! Liquid Cheek Tint #001 Pop Of Pink

NYX Powder Blush #11 Taupe (review)

Essence Sun Club Glamour To Go Eyeshadow Palette #02 Long Beach (review)

Maybelline New York Volum’ Express The Falsies Mascara #Black Drama (review)

NYX Butter Gloss #96 Peach Cobbler (review)

Review: Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara

When you’re searching for a natural looking all-in-one brow product that will tint and set your eyebrows within a few seconds, then you should really take a look at the Maybelline Brow Drama Sculpting Brow Mascara! The only things I don’t like are the cheap packaging and the shape of the brush, but other than that I think I’ve just found a replacement of my beloved Catrice Eyebrow Filler Perfecting & Shaping Gel…

 

Love,

Suzanne

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Iris Beukers permalink
    October 17, 2014 10:56 am

    I’m still not 100% sure if I want to try this or not, I’m scared that the color will look kinda grey on me? And I’m also not a huge fan of the brush.. Happy that I finally got to read a review of it though, thank you!

    • October 17, 2014 3:45 pm

      Graag gedaan! :)

      • Iris Beukers permalink
        October 17, 2014 4:00 pm

        Ohhh je bent ook Nederlands haha! Kom ik weer aanzetten met m’n Engelse comment! :’)

  2. April 11, 2015 8:07 am

    This wand is so ridiculous! I’m glad to find a drugstore gel with an auburn shade but does this wand serve any purpose??

    kiralynnmakeup.com

Leave a Reply

