Skip to content

Empties October 2014

November 5, 2014

I think many beauty lovers would agree with me that finishing a product can be both exciting and devastating at the same time. Myself, I always tend to let the excitement win. It’s a very satisfying feeling to use up the last drop that’s left in the packaging, and it also means that you can now start with a fresh, new product – such a great feeling…

Today I’ll share that feeling with you; it’s time for me to show you my empties!

Empties October 2014

A lot of tubes here on this picture… The one on the left is the Collistar Biorevitalizing Face Cream, which – due to the small packaging – I used as a day cream during holidays and trips. Collistar is quite an expensive luxury brand, so I expected a lot from this one. Unfortunately my experience with this day cream was very similar  to when I tried the Intensive Firming Cream from the same brand: a nice product, but definitely not worth the money. I’m now using a day cream by L’Oréal which works way better for me!

The lovely blue tube is by the skin care brand Dr. van der Hoog, and it’s called the Quick Restore 3 Minute Aloe Vera Mask. I already showed you this product in both the video about my skin care routine (click!) and my ‘What’s in my shower?’ blog post (click!). Here’s how I described the mask: “This isn’t a miracle worker, but I do like using it for a quick skin boost.”

Another product that’s definitely not a miracle worker is the Ordina Visage Facial Scrub. I actually haven’t finished this one but I’m throwing it away anyway because I didn’t like this scrub at all. It was the first scrub that I ever used, so at the time I thought it was okay, but later when I tried other facial scrubs I realized that this really is a crappy one. The scrubbing particles are too big and very harsh, which damages my skin quite a lot. I’ve recently discovered another scrub that is amazing, so that one will definitely appear in my next monthly favourites blog post. I’ll give you a spoiler: apricots!

It saddens me deeply to say goodbye to this next product: the Victoria’s Secret Drenched in PINK Fresh & Clean Supersoft Body Lotion. I absolutely ADORED this body lotion, especially its fresh apple & lily scent that lingers around for hours after I’ve applied it. Also I really liked the lightness of this lotion, it’s absorbed by my skin very quickly.

Empties October 2014

A nail polish that I’ve used up is the Essie Rock Solid Base Coat. Well, the bottle isn’t completely empty but the nail polish has dried up so I can’t use it anymore. This nail polish was amongst my February Favourites, this is what I wrote about it: “My nails are very weak so they usually can’t grow very long, but with this product I’ve noticed a remarkable difference – my nails are stronger and harder, and I don’t think they’ve ever been so long!” That statement still applies, so I might have to buy this product again soon…

For the past year, the Blistex Daily Lip Conditioner has been my go-to overnight lip treatment. The scent is quite powerful (kinda menthol-ish) so I don’t like using it during the day, but it’s perfect for putting on right before going to bed. I don’t think I will buy this one again, though, because I have so many other great lip balms in my stash!

Even just looking at this photo makes my heart break: such a waste to throw such a large amount of precious perfume away! This is the The Body Shop Love Etc… Eau de Parfum, which I got as a present years ago. After a few months I stopped using it – I have no idea why, I just forgot about it – and now it smells spoilt and disgusting. Note to myself: use the freakin perfume while it’s still smelling good!!!

Empties October 2014

Of course I saved the best for last: make up! The first make up product that I want to talk about is the Catrice Eyeshadow Base, which has completely dried up. I didn’t really like it anyway – it had a weird consistency and contained glitters… Not my cup of tea!

Now this is an eyeshadow base that IS my cup of tea: the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion! I have never come across an equally great primer, this one is just perfection (click here to read why). I got this miniature version for free when I bought my Naked Palette, and I loved it so much that I bought a back up this summer – I showed it to you in this haul.

One of my favourite mascaras is the Maybelline New York Volum’ Express One By One Mascara, which I’m using nearly every single day. As you can see in my review that I wrote about it, this mascara does the three things that a mascara should do: elongate, thicken and blacken my lashes!

How I love the Sephora Mattifying Powder Foundation #26 Medium! This is a powder that gives the most beautiful, natural looking coverage to my skin, and it’s so quick to use… Needless to say, I already bought a back up, which I’m wearing at this very moment.

Empties October 2014

That’s it for my October empties! By the way, I’m sorry that this blog post is a bit late, seeing as November has already started a while ago. Oh well, better late than never, right?

 

Love,

Suzanne

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 11, 2014 8:41 pm

    Wat heb je veel producten op gemaakt! Geeft altijd een lekker gevoel :)

Leave a Reply

