Skip to content

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte Nail Polish Review

November 17, 2014

Usually, when I buy a new make up product I get so excited that I immediately try it when I get home from the store.

This was indeed the case when I bought the Rimmel London Velvet Matte Nail Polish in the beautiful shade #015 Midnight Kiss, but my excitement soon turned into surprise and then into repulsion…

 

Like the name says, the Velvet Matte polishes are supposed to give give your nails a matte, velvet-like finish: “Luxuriously opulent must-have shades of the season, drying to a velvety matte finish… simply matte-nificent!”

Nail Fail: Rimmel London Velvet Matte

Well… I don’t think Rimmel London means this effect, or do they? Right after applying the first coat, the polish began to split like one of these crackling nail polishes that are also on the market – which I hate, by the way.

Nail Fail: Rimmel London Velvet Matte

I tried applying a second coat, but that one came out looking weird and crackled as well. After a lot of fiddling and a lot of frustration, I got the effect that you can see in the picture above. Not a nice look, eh?

Furthermore, the polish smudged extremely easily. About half an hour after application, I assumed the polish had dried so I started using my hands again – which resulted in me getting the lovely effect that is shown on the left picture.

Of course this isn’t what a nail polish is supposed to look like. That’s why I contacted Rimmel London and showed them these pictures. A few days later I got a package in the mail, containing not only the shade that I had bought, but also two more shades from the Velvet Matte collection. I was really amazed by their great service, so thank you Rimmel London!

I will now continue this article with a normal review of the Velvet Matte collection – let’s hope the result is better this time…

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte

Here they are: the Rimmel London Velvet Matte Nail Polishes in the shades (from left to right): #015 Midnight Kiss, #017 Matt-itude and #016 Purple Opulence. Of course I’ve swatched them all for you! On thes pictures below I’m wearing two coats of the polishes – no top coat because that would ruin the matte effect.

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte

First off, the shade that I initially bought myself: #015 Midnight Kiss. It’s a beautiful, deep dark blue colour – which is what made me buy this polish in the first place. You can imagine my relief when I applied the first coat: thank god it isn’t crackling! Although I must remark that the nail polish isn’t very opaque (as you can see it needs more than two coats for an even effect) both the colour and the finish are stunning.

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte

On to the next bottle, which is a black shade called #017 Matt-itude. To be honest I wouldn’t buy this exact shade myself, as I don’t really like black polishes because they don’t suit my short nails (and my personality as well!). I find that this nail polish looks a bit grey and depressing, but if you like that sort of thing then you should try this polish because the coverage and the matte finish are very nice!

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte

This is the third and last shade that I received: #016 Purple Opulence. I absolutely adore this shade, I think I like it even better than the dark blue one… It’s a beautiful, rich purple that’s perfect if you want to add a fashionable touch to your look without it distracting from the rest of your outfit. Just like the black shade, this one is also great coverage wise.

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte

Here’s one more picture of the different shades.

Nail Fail?! Rimmel London Velvet Matte

I think we can all agree that there was definitely something wrong with the nail polish that you saw in the beginning of the article, but luckily Rimmel London kindly offered me a new set of polishes to see if I liked those better. And as it turned out, I did! I don’t like all the shades, but the quality and finish of the Velvet Matte Nail Polishes are quite nice. If you’re looking for some new, extraordinary polishes to add to your collection for fall/winter times, go get you some!

 

Love,

Suzanne

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    June 6, 2015 4:09 pm

    These nail polishes are the biggest disappointment ever I bought all 4 colours.
    Once you start doing some chores the nail polish legits peels off waste of money!

Trackbacks

  1. 3×3 Autumn Products! | Make Up Your Mind

Leave a Reply

